An unwanted visit

Summer is fortunately nearing to the end. All my classmates are coming back from holidays, they have fun stories to tell and when I am asked what I have been doing, well, what have I been doing? I have been the servant of my cantankerous parents and tolerated insults and humiliation all summer long. I wish I had had one day of vacation. I am tired, and I have a year full of work, study and challenges ahead.

I will have my accounting exam on September 11, and on the same date my brother’s ex wife will come to visit with her new boyfriend. I never liked her. Usually, if she cares to visit, it is because she needs money from my father. They are staying four days, and I doubt they are coming just to see the beauty of this little town. She is not even from here, she knows this city just because my brother showed it to her; they always lived in Germany. So, the excuse to show the new boyfriend “the place where I come from” does not really work. She never even bothered to learn Italian. So I already know how this will end: my mother does not speak German, she does not speak Italian, the two of them will not understand each other, my mother’s paranoia will land on the highest level because she will think that whatever is said in German is against her since she does not understand it.

There is no part of my family I like. When I am with my father, I notice that even if he is now an old man who is fragile and needs help, I do not manage to love him. He has been a coward, a liar, a cheater all his life long. He never truly protected me, and I was just a little girl, looking for an affection which I never got. Nowadays I do not care, I am self-confident on my own, but as a child you need to be given self-confidence and I got only insults. I will be hated anyway, whatever I do, I will never be desired. As I said some time ago, I might just be the result of an occasional fuck, or maybe my mother thought a child would be like having a puppet you can switch on and off on demand.

So, back to studying.

Log in to write a note
August 31, 2018

How well I understand this. I hope your mother gets all offended just so her blood pressure rises. One day perhaps she will get so upset she will have a stroke and wind up dead. Cold and nasty of me I suppose but I have no use for “parents” like yours. Hugs

August 31, 2018

My heart aches that you endured a life much like mine You are not alone my friend. Both of us have suffered through having the wrong set of parents. I wish I could draw. An artist lies within me I see things with my mind that I can’t express on paper. Maybe there is still time to learn that skill.I think of you constantly and realize this is a busy time for you with exams and this forthcoming visit. Take care too my special friend (hugs ) always M