Like/Nervous/Neighbors/Over A Tall Fence

He has started making me coffee on weekend mornings before I get up.

‘I guess now
We could just get drunk
Yeah
And that could be our
Excuse’

;If you’d asked to be called something, all those enthusiastic ‘yes’es recently would be ‘yes, Sir’s or whatever;
.                                                                                                                                                                                                  ;What about Captain? Wait, Navigator?;
.                                                                                                                                                                                                  ;Navigator’s too many syllables, I can do Captain;

It was so cold overnight that the damp laundry froze into a brick in the dryer in the basement.

‘It’s a 
Narrow
Margin
Just
Room enough
For regret’

He is making a breakfast sandwich with gouda and I, laughing
.                                                                                                                   ;Do you want to be called Maverick?;
.                                                                                                                                                                                       ;No!;
.                                                                                                                   ;OK, what about Goose then?;
.                                                                                                                                                                           ;Just call me President;

‘In the 
Inch and a half
Between
;Hey 
How you been?;
And
;Can I 
Kiss you
Yet;’

Apropos of nothing, hours later
.                                                          ;I could call you Surveyor;
.                                                                                                          ;No, Perambulator;

The sap in the trees is popping like gunshots because<they were so warm for so much of the winter and> now they are too cold and all their blood is too far from the ground.

‘But I just got
One more
Thing to tell you
Because words 
Are vitamins and
Life is short’

;What about Sisyphus?;
.                                            he opens the door to ask while I’m smoking and typing then closes again before I can rejoin.<He is practicing leaving me waiting>

‘And I know when we get up
To the front office
We’re gonna have to
Fill out
A full 
Report’

;I should be called Spider-Man. Fuck me, Spider-Man, fuck me!;
.                                                                                                                     ;What about Hulk? I could call you Bruce;
;No, you can just call me Mr. Stark. How about just Tony.
.                                                                My father was Mr. Stark, you can call me Tony;

‘First question will be
;What were you thinking?;
And the next question will be
;What did you say?;
And they’re gonna 
Check to see
If the answers to 
One and two
Match up
Much
Along
The way’

As he wanders off
.                                 ;Boaty McBoatface?;
.                                                                        ;Again, too many syllables;
.                                 ;Come on, you could just call me Boaty. Or Boat Face. That works too;

‘What I mean is
It’s late
Much too late for us
And I am fixing
To go home
With just my conscience
And a bitter sense
Of irony
As my chaperone
It’s a
Narrow
Margin
Just room enough
For regret’
– Ani DiFranco

Log in to write a note
February 4, 2023

But I just got
One more
Thing to tell you
Because words 
Are vitamins and
Life is short’

Beautiful.  Poignant.  True.