How I got here…PT 1

I want to move on. I want to make this Journal about the present and the future. I spend all my time running away from the memories but I feel like until I just write it down maybe I can move forward. This is going to take a long time and I am going to try to make it as short as possible. I am not going to write at this point what started everything. I am only going to go back to what lead me where I am now.

In April 2016 I started to get sick like sick where I could not hide it. I had lost a significant amount of weight. I was having trouble at my job I was just existing I didnt know exactly what was wrong but I knew I was sick. I went to the hospital several times and I was basically given anxiety medications but nothing was really checked. Then I was told it was kidney stones so I had surgery to break up the kidney stones but it did not help the tingling and stiffness in my arms and legs or the fact that I just did not have any energy I would try to stand up from the toilet but I would sometimes just fall back down.

In July I took my kids to a water park to celebrate my sons birthday. It was only after a few minutes that I started feeling increasingly sick. I tried to get water but as soon as a drank the water I was throwing up unable to get up. I then lost my sight and hearing. I was taken to the medical trailer and then taken to the hospital. When I got to the hospital I was convinced I was going to die. I soon learned that I had been suffering from Hypokalemia and was minutes away from heart failure.

I ended up in the hospital a few more times after that for the same reason. When I went to my doctors the next time I didnt have my normal nurse practitioner I had the head doctor who asked me about my weight loss and my hospital stays. I finally told her that I had relapsed in my eating disorder pretty seriously. Due to my heart problems I was immediately taken for a ultrasound on my heart. Where damage was found heavily on the left side. At this time she recommended me leave work and see a nutritionist and a therapist. So I found a nutritionist and she recommended an eating disorder program close to where I lived. I had never in all my years actively sought out treatment. I really didnt get how sick I was and I really just needed the short term disability at work until I felt better but I went and for the first time I told the person everything.

I was hoping for some counseling or something maybe an eating plan or something instead I found out that they were recommending me for an inpatient program in Florida. So without knowing much about it I started going through the process but then I started having second thoughts. I was really torn. So I found another program. I felt like it was the right place and I had found out that I didnt qualify for the one in Florida because I failed my pre-examine and would need to be hospitalized first before I could be medically cleared to travel and be admitted but the other place I didnt need to do that. It also was not inpatient it was a partial hospitalization program.

So I was entered into that program. I will say that I knowing what I know now that program was not for me although it was a great program. That program was very much about accountability and commitment and I was really not in a place that I could make that program work. I in some ways became sicker from that program because the other problem I struggle with is alcohol. I was going to a place having two meals a day two snacks and not having the knowledge or the tools to know how to emotionally deal with it at night. I would only recommend this type of program if you have done a more intense program and you are stepping down. I began drinking 3 times as much as I had before and after I believe two months my insurance would no longer cover that level of care and would only pay for inpatient treatment.

This time I went to (what I now know) was a great program. I only stayed for one day I just really had a lot of anxiety about it, I was going to miss my kids Halloween, Christmas, and birthdays. I do wish I had thought of the long run but I did not.

After that my drinking became worse I got stuck in a weird place mentally. I had lost my job, my husband was angry at me, my kids were scared because I was in and out of the hospital so many times. I just didnt know what to do. So one day I decided that I was going to go and I was going to get better for my kids and my family. I was for the first time really ready to do it.

I looked online and found a place in Michigan.

Part 2 will be about what really destroyed me.

 

Log in to write a note
February 27, 2018

Life is always about making one step forward, then another. Sometimes we all take two steps back. When you get to the point in your growth where you are making step after step forward, you know you are on the right path. OD is a good, safe place to clear your mind of all the negative energy.