Saying no

Hey everyone!  Saying no should be a good practice for everyone, so it’s no surprise that I am having trouble with a few major things.  First off my parents.  I have long believed they are living in the past.  My friends are another thing altogether.  Sometimes it can take months, or even years to make them believe that we have a toxic friendship. Usually, I just end up ghosting them, though.  Or worse yet, they disappear on me, leaving me alone, holding the bag. Speaking of my parents, my main pet peeve is you guessed it:facebook.  My dad usually doesn’t comment, he just leaves the occasional profile picture.  My mom can be viscious, though and when she saw something that she deemed wrong or crazy, or even unlike me, she posted on my wall: “there are hackers,here.” Her neighbor , a person whom I thought was my friend liked the post.  I am so glad I blocked her, the neighbor, and my college suitemate and frienemy.   To add insult to injury, my parents were wondering why I went off it, during a meeting with my therapist.  People go off facebook everyday! So unreal. So…..I guess I need to say no to people closest to me.

 

Love,

Melinda

Log in to write a note
August 25, 2018

You have to say No more often. Don’t let people guilt you in to saying yes after you said no either. Stand your ground and don’t let people take advantage of your kindness.

September 12, 2018

@sweetie04 Thanks