The work week

I wrote a whole entry. I took a while because I was talking to my bf some, texting my friend about “You”, researching some made up vacation I want to take, and doing my nightly supplement routine. I guess I got logged out. I hit save, it asked me to log back in and *POOF* my entry was gone.

So, to sum it up, I noticed that I am not in the same funk during the work week as I am on the weekend. I think I need more weekend obligations to keep myself from wasting away in bed.

Also, a patient berated me today. And made me stay late. It was a busy day as it is, and this was the icing on the cake.

And then! I found out that a family member with a new baby, who is always tight on cash, is planning on having a second child “soon”, and planning a family vacation in a few months.

So, I have decided life isn’t fair. I have worked my ass off and save money since I was 15. I have nothing to show for it but a 5-year-old economy coupe, 2, dogs and a closet full of thrift shop clothes. I have taken 2 non-work related vacations. All of that and I don’t have enough money in savings to put a decent down payment down for a home, which means I need to shop for something a lot less than what I’d like.

I asked if adults get to take gap years. I want a year off to contemplate life and decide what I want to be “when I grow up”.

I’m 34, btw. Definitely grown. Not grown up.

Log in to write a note
January 9, 2019

Is anybody ever fully grown up? For sure, I am not. You can and should take a gap year. Do something drastic and unexpected. You will shake things up, meet new people and have really cool stories at the end. Best wishes. 🙂