Without Fog

Love.

It is good to write with a clearer mind today. My sleep schedule has much improved. I learned from my friends that we have very differing ideas on what a healthy sleep schedule is. I grew up in a poorer-than-I-understood-at-the-time rural area in the foothills of North Georgia. In our area, the general consensus was that you tried to get enough sleep so that you’d have a night-time hour – an hour or hour and a half of awake time in the middle of the night that private people generally used for reading, starting meals (like a pot of beans), knitting/crocheting, or cross-stitching, and more social people would get together for a bit before heading back to bed. If you didn’t get enough sleep, you’d sleep through your night-time hour, which was a big chunk of typically-scarce free time for several people that I knew. (This seems to now be known as biphasic sleep, though I disagree with a number of the assertions I have read when looking it up on the internet.)

I feel fortunate that I got my night-time hour last night. Between all the helpful messages from people on this site and some other conversations I’ve had with friends and family, I was able to work through quite a bit of garbage that was cluttering my head. I have found a friend that is willing to carry a burdensome memory; we will get together some time next week or so for a chat.

Today I feel better, and the sun is shining. Just one week to go. Amen.

Log in to write a note
January 11, 2022

The night-time hour is an interesting concept. I usually get one because I have to wake up and use the bathroom lol. It’s amazing how much I can get accomplished when I get up and the rest of the house is still sleeping!

January 13, 2022

OD is fortunate to have you. Thank you for your perspective, kind words on so many of our diaries, and your lovely writing.

January 13, 2022

I’ve never heard of being biphasic.  I, too, have weird hours.  For whatever reason my body has decided that I should wake up at 2 am. every day no matter HOW I try to change it.  It’s been like this going on 2 years, so…  I make all my appointments for the morning.

I’m so glad you are doing better.  I care!

January 15, 2022

This is very interesting!!  I definitely wake up in the middle of every night.  I get up, let my puppy out, go to the bathroom and eat a snack.  Then I go back to bed and read myself back to sleep, which usually takes a while.  It is usually around 3:00 when I wake up.