Closings

The closing of the summer house,
And I will miss this seasoned place.
One last walk along the beach,
With dog at heel, in matching pace,
The sunset just beyond our reach.
Another year-long toilsome breach
before we shall these paths retrace,
So many months to cover.
My heart and soul live here , off-season,
caretakers each to the other.

posted 8/27/01

Pulled the boat out of the water today. It’s pretty much the same feeling.

Log in to write a note

Ahhhh, luxury problems. 🙂 It’ll be fun to put it back in next year. Baseball comes back as well. Peace,

You are a wonderful poet. Very soulful.

Lincoln’s note made me giggle. Now I can’t remember what I wanted to say.

Laughing as well at the luxury problem note… thanks for the kind words.

“The sunset just beyond our reach” Good line.

tuck in……long winter ahead. here–::handing you cocoa::

October 30, 2002

ryn: We have three main stations: McMurdo, Palmer Station on the Antarctic Peninsula, and Amundsen-Scott South Pole Station. A number of field camps operate strictly during summer. There are dozens of other stations: New Zealand (right next door), Italian, French, Russian, British, Japanese, German, Argentinian, Venezuelan, Chilean, others. Still pretty empty continent, though–it’s big! 🙂

ryn: I think that you’re right about last night’s service. Whether he was murdered or not, I’m not as clear about, it was quite a bit too ‘convenient.’ Peace,

October 30, 2002

caretakers each to the other…so beautiful IK. You have a true gift with words. We once had a lake place, very humble but so rich in all that my soul needed. It felt like that each time I locked the door and walked away. Here’s a hug 🙂

gel
October 30, 2002

((IK)) Winter’s coming on way too fast this year.

you have a gift with words.

October 31, 2002

I’ll be closing a place like that in a couple of weeks. You captured the essence well.

November 3, 2002

RYN: I have a small keyboard on my PDA, I also have learned the fake alphabet (unistroke/graffit), but my favorite method is with an onscreen keyboard that is cleverly designed to group the most used US letters (t,a,n,e,o,r that make 73% of an average page) right in the middle so you need move the stylus only one space to do 70+% of the entry. I am writing a review of it right now.

November 3, 2002

I can actually tap out 40 words per minute on FITALY (Named for the new “home row” keys in the design) and I only type 50-60 on desktop.

November 4, 2002

RYN: No, that’s Ice Runway, three miles out on the sea ice. You can see the tail rudders of the planes sticking up highest, if the picture is large enough.

Hello Icarus,,,,,So nice to meet a new Fellow… Thankyou for your kind note. I will definitely check into that, if indeed it helps…. Hope to see you around. I could sure use a guys perspective on things.. Again, Thx

November 14, 2002

Still not sure what happened, but wanted to wish you a pleasant holiday season, and hope your health has not caused you to retreat. I’ve enjoyed reading you over the years.

June 1, 2009

Hope you are doing just the opposite of this entry, and opening your beach house for the summer. I miss your entries.

March 31, 2010

Are you still out here somewhere??? Seems we’ve both been quite absent for awhile. Feelings are beginning to draw me back here again. Hope to see you!! Hugs 🙂

August 7, 2010

Miss you old friend. I’m very scarce in these parts but I do remember the laughs at your comments and writings. Things change but our hearts always remember the warmth of friendship.