Impromptu Defined

impromptu

[ im-promp-too, -tyoo ]

adjective

made or done without previous preparation:an impromptu address to the unexpected crowds.

suddenly or hastily prepared, made, etc.:an impromptu dinner.

improvised; having the character of an improvisation.

adverb

without preparation:verses written impromptu.

noun

something impromptu; an impromptu speech, musical composition, performance, etc.

a character piece for piano common in the 19th century and having, despite its title, a clear-cut form.


How many times do I have to start over before I get it right?

Which leads me to ask, how many times have I started over?

Which, in turn, brings me to the realization that there is really no RIGHT or WRONG way to answer that. Does it really make a difference how many times we start over? And I’m curious if we really DO start over, or if we change direction?

Life, to me, is IMPROMPTU. There’s no script. There’s no book on how to live your life. And there’s no directions on how to make our life work.

In answer to the question, how many times do I start over? As many times as I need to start over. Not to ensure I get it right, as to ensure I don’t make the same mistake a second time. Even then, however, there’s a chance that I could or could not re-address something that I haven’t quite learned. Life’s lessons is what I call them. You might refer to them as something different, because there’s not a right or a wrong way in doing this. We live our lives the best way we know how; the best that we can; guided by the memories of our parents who gave their own advice; taught us how to use our common sense. I’m sure that some of us learned how to utilize our common sense at an early age.

In fact, I’m sure there are some who believe that we aren’t TAUGHT common sense but learn that as we go.  Some, I believe, never learn this at all. So here I am once again. Impromptu. To learn. To see what’s what. To have fun. To write. To explore.

 

Log in to write a note
February 27, 2020

Welcome back

February 28, 2020

@heffay Many thanks!!!