I don’t want to be you

I went to a dinner at one of the fire stations Dustin works at and there were two wives there. They pushed out like seven kids between them. They’re 40 something and very mom…like. Aside from the comment that I’m so small that they thought I was 20 weeks, not 9 months, there was another one that sort of bothered me. It was after I said I was the DD on our Valentine’s Day dinner.

“Oh. You still celebrate Valentine’s Day?” (Insert scoff from random wife)

“Yes?” – Me

“Well it’s also our anniversary” – Dustin

Firefighter “Oh we forgot which anniversary we are celebrating”

Wife of that firefighter – “Yeah we don’t really celebrate birthdays or anniversaries”

Other wife – “It stops people from being disappointed”

I texted Dustin while he stood inches away from me that we can’t be these people.

I know we are having a kid in like four weeks or less, but I never want to be the couple who stops celebrating anniversaries or knowing which one we are on. I never want to be the people who don’t go out for Valentine’s Day or at least get each other a card or something small. I never want to be the boring couple with too many damn kids and no time for each other. I know us and I know we won’t be like that, but I need to remind myself that I don’t like couples like that and I want to keep our love for one another important. That’s all.

 

The end.

Log in to write a note
May 29, 2019

You will never be those people.