This is just to say…

Listen, it’s all well and good when people decide to be fit and healthy. Let’s start with that, but if I don’t not get my words out now, I may regret my actions in the future.

I like when people reinvent themselves. Wait. No. No, I actually don’t. I don’t because I like when people are predictably themselves. As a teacher I supposed that’s troublesome, since I want my students to grow up. But that’s because they’re 12 and not in their late 20s or early 30s. I guess some people have to start somewhere. And everyone’s somewhere looks different. One day they could be eating chips on the couch (which I like to do from time to time) and the next day they have decided to trade those chips in for some kale. But, please, for the love of all that’s holy, please keep your “journey” to yourself and don’t sell me things about it. Don’t post about it 3,000 times a day. Social media is getting to me. It’s the thing that makes me feel more irritated than bad drivers, smokers who throw their butts on the ground and people who don’t text back immediately.

People were once not annoying in my life. But now they believe in the culty world of weight loss and vanity and making people feel like they must join this way to be happy. Sad, unhappy people, without a mission in life, start believing this cult is their meaning of life and then all of a sudden we have thousands of people who are unfit (pun intended) telling others how to live their life in a healthy way and how to work out.

The thing is, I have only been working out for the last…28 years of my life. I would imagine four years old was when I began swimming competitively, so I will give myself that. Then, I played various sports, then I went to college to play sports, then I got out of college and played sports, ran, weight lifted, ate food that was good for me and figured out how to balance the good food and the donuts. During these 20 plus years, not once have I told people how to live their life or ask them to drink a “superfood” concoction that several dietitians have said, yes, it has good qualities, but no, it is not whole foods, it is not superfoods anymore as it was made in a lab, and then coming in at 160 calories or so, this is not a meal replacement. If people are using it as such, they’ll gain that weight back when they don’t use the ridiculously expensive mix. I’m sick and tired of hearing about ads on my own social media for make-up, for weight loss, for jewelry, for eyelash serum, for cleaning cloths, and for various other things. That’s not what social media started out for. It was to keep in contact with people you want to talk to from far away. At this point, I don’t know why I have a social media presence. I’m sick of young girls who stopped binge drinking and started moving around a little bit, getting into their Nike shorts for a before shot and pull them down to see the skin squeezed on their stomach and in their after shot pulling the shorts up to their belly button to show progress. Like…no. And when I try to be supportive about other people doing whatever they choose to do and “like” something, I get six other weirdos adding me to Instagram and asking me to join their circus show cult health trip. No. Thank. You.

I’m sick of listening to people that didn’t get an education, but are now the mom of like four kids start saying they started their business to help a company sell their products and then have to pay to have the products. I had no idea how much I hate this all until it was thrown in my face every single day of my life for the last month or so. It was a quiet world until people hopped on a bandwagon.

I’m going to continue to be healthy and not push it on others. I’m going to continue to be myself, which is a little outspoken in writing and pretty timid otherwise. I’m going to deal with other people’s need to parade around in their sports bras and show pictures every single time they workout. I’m going to try and not care when people get mental issues because of this new behavior. I’m going to not care when these people quit doing this because it’s unhealthy to be bullied by women to make sure they have enough people in their challenge group or that they must meet some quota on signing up a certain amount of people to make their team look good. Stop. Just stop. What a disgusting culture you are creating.

It’s not healthy. It’s not good for the psyche. Social media and MLM businesses have this disgusting relationship that I don’t want to see.

 

I have a severe need to be myself and I think this may be why I don’t like when I see others being fake. When friends change, make yuck decisions in their personal lives and think that this stuff is going to fix the broken pieces that they have caused. I’m almost 32 and I feel like I have passed the age of having to accept others just because you have to. I don’t. And that might be an absolutely shallow or terrible quality I have, but I am owning it. As a person with will power, drive, and a clear understanding of myself, this stuff is just too much for me. I should allow others to pursue this type of life, but I can’t sit around and not voice a very opinionated diary. I can allow people to change completely, but that doesn’t mean there’s space in my life for that. Things run their courses.

 

I have missed writing. To now let go of those negative thoughts that were living in my head…is relieving.

Log in to write a note
April 30, 2018

I have always appreciated that you don’t shove your fitness in my face. You are encouraging but not shaming.

#goodfriend

April 30, 2018

@rosaline I liked our workout circuits at your house. I want to move back and do that.

May 1, 2018

I hear you.

One of my best good friends started selling Norwex cleaning cloths to “supplement” her teaching income. My husband and I bought a couple of things at the beginning to be nice, but I still see the several times a day Facebook posts and every time we get together one of the first things she asks is, “Do you want to host a party with your coworkers? It can be online!” Nope, nope, nope. Sorry girl, this is not your way to financial freedom, and my coworkers are preschool teachers who make even less than you do; I’m not pushing $30 cleaning cloths on them.

Whew, it felt good to rant. Thanks!

May 1, 2018

@queenofegypt Haha my sister in law sells this Norwex stuff and I think knows better to ask me to do anything with them, thankfully. It’s so exhausting to see all this stuff online every day! Thank you for leaving a note and making me feel better about feeling so intense about these um…”side hustles”…

May 2, 2018

@imtheprofessor Haha, no problem! 😁