What’s in a name?

I never asked to be named my name. In fact, I think it’s sort of odd. But because of that, I grew up feeling unique. That made me different from other people. One thing I couldn’t shake, although wanting to be unique, is other people’s opinions. I don’t like to be judged or I don’t like when people have weird reactions to things I say or do or choose.

 

What I’m getting at is the reactions of my sister and to be quite honest, my mother when I told them both what I wanted to name our baby. Is it actually any of their business or should they care? My mom was odd about it, but got over it and started referring to our kid by the name we like way too much which annoyed me. I said…”Uh you named me something different…” and she said “But everyone loved it!” Ok. Are you saying no one likes my child’s name? Cool. Then when I finally had to tell my sister, which I never wanted to do, she was less than enthusiastic. I hate that I care about her opinion. And then when I told my mom I wasn’t super sure that my sister liked the name, she told my sister I thought that, causing drama. I’m so sick of having to be a part of the family that I am a part of that I think I’ll stay in Idaho for the rest of my life. And I’m not kidding. I like being here where people aren’t like my family. I like my life here. I don’t want to be closer to these people. Not like I have to see my sister’s family because she didn’t visit me when I lived four hours away, let alone ten.

 

When my child is named something unique, but not over the top, he will probably feel like he’s different and he may embrace that when his classmates don’t have his name.

And it’s not about other people. It’s about my husband and my child and me and we will be a family and I can have a better experience with this little family of mine and forget about the drama, ridiculous behaviors and my childhood, which actually sucked, the more I think about it.

But whatever.

I am always told that I had a good childhood and that I should get over it. I didn’t, but thanks.

 

Log in to write a note
December 12, 2018

People are weird.

January 17, 2019

Name your child what you want and fuck the rest of them.

That is my official advice.