A Thought about Happiness

I was thinking after writing in my other journal… the “private” one that I keep locked away and secret… of happiness. And you know how I love words… though we all have our definitions of what they mean to us, even when clearly defined. So I looked it up. Didn’t put all of the definitions here, but you get the gist.

Happiness:

Characterized by good luck; fortunate. Enjoying, showing, or marked by pleasure, satisfaction, or joy. Being especially well-adapted; felicitous; Cheerful; willing.

Enthusiastic about or involved with to a disproportionate degree

Writing makes me happy. Being able to help others, giving myself, sharing. A lot of things. And I am happy. Though at times I don’t portray that in what I write. Perhaps it’s because I feel that something is missing. Something that is elusive? Or not yet within my reach?

I feel incomplete if that makes sense? Know how when two people meet and there is that instant bonding at times? Like a soul mate found? Wonder if that’s it.

I am not sure.

Yet… in spite of being happy, what are the emotions of “happy”? Giddy? Ecstatic? Overjoyed? Does it take a lifetime to find happiness?

Happiness can be found in many different variations, can’t they? A job? Where you live? Who you’re with? Children; friends; people you meet in passing be it here or out there on the streets? Do you make yourself happy? Is happiness a gift? Something like a goal? A security thing?

A mask? A showing of a false bravado? Something totally different maybe?

What makes you happy? Can you be happy all the time? Is there such a thing as forever happiness? Can you be secretly happy?

I know that you can show happiness… with a smile… a gesture… a word… different facial expressions…

Is happiness something you work for? Search for? Just comes to you? Falls in your lap? Finds you no matter where you are?

Can you honestly say to yourself that yes, I am happy, and have that phrase be true and mean it?

And in reading this… are you left with happy thoughts or images of memories past, present and future? Or with questions?

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 27, 2018

So true, everybody has their own views of happiness and a person that thinks they are happy may not be as “happy” as another person.

January 27, 2018

@thediarymaster I believe we create our own happiness. I believe that every single one of us is entitled to happiness.

January 27, 2018

@intrinsicpassion yes that is certainly true, and a much better way to look at it 🙂

January 28, 2018

I don’t go for happiness as an ultimate goal in life as I don’t see it as sustainable, not that’s it’s a bad thing. We appreciate it more when we achieve it. I rather aim for contentment.