Almost 22 Years Have Passed…

Hello Readers,

J*XMOM is popping in to say hello.

This September will be 22 years since I lost Jake in a tragic go-cart accident. He was nine years old. His sisters are now married.  One has three children. R is an attorney in child advocacy and B is serving our country in the USAF – currently living in Alaska.  As you will recall, his older brother, J, is married. He has two children. I have five grandchildren now and Jake missed out on being an Uncle to all these kids. Jake would have been a wonderful Uncle.

Jake celebrated his 31st birthday in Heaven in May. That was the twenty first birthday that he celebrated without us.

After all these years, I have learned many things about grief:

  1. It never goes away and that is ok.
  2. People will still remember him outside of family. I know this because I see items placed at his resting place.
  3. I still hurt and that is ok.
  4. It is ok to talk about him because he is still my son, a brother with living siblings, and two nieces and three nephews that need to know what a wonderful person he is (i say “is” because he lives on in our hearts).
  5. Life goes on and I will always carry him in my heart wherever I go.

If I can help others through the difficult loss of a child or loved one, then I have honored my son, today and always.

 

 

Log in to write a note
August 4, 2022

I remember you from old OD, and reading about Jake. I lost my mom a year ago on 8/19, and my dad two years before that. I know that grief never does go away, and it hasn’t been as long for me. I still grieve for other loved ones in my life, and for my own infant son, David Michael. You are 100% on target in that he lives… in your hearts… in Heaven… and he watches over you all. It’s nice to see the familiar faces popping up here now and then. Thank you for stopping in. I hope you’ll visit often once more.

August 4, 2022

@caria  I am sorry for all your losses. Life is so hard as we lose loved ones. We never expect our parents to pass. As or your son David Michael, that is a difficult loss. We never should outlive our children. Hugs to you across the miles. This diary helped me write through my grief. I encourage you to write about your losses.