I thought about an open diary, and found out that it exists! So I’m here now.

a while ago, I was thinking that it would be great if you could publish your diary online, and as I was strolling on the web, I came across a list of social platforms. When I saw Open Diary, I knew that it was what I had imagined. I’m glad that there is a website like this.
I’ll be planting garlic today before the frost comes. I have been a farmer for almost 1 year now. My actual job is teaching English online but I have bought myself a farmhouse with half a hectare of land for a very cheap price, and I’m enjoying it here. I’ve got a beautiful samoyed dog and 2 cats. I want to start beekeeping and get myself a horse too!
I hate living among idiots who keep on burning weed. That’s the drawback of living in a village. Burning is bad for the soil, bad for the weather, and bad for animal and human health. But people want to do things the easy way…
I try to use organic methods and although I’ve been a farmer for only one year now, I know much more than they do. They are simply not interested in learning about what they do and about nature.

Log in to write a note

Hi! Welcome back to OD! 🙂 I’m Sammy.

November 14, 2020

Welcome to OD. I look forward to hearing your farming adventures!

November 15, 2020

welcome!

November 15, 2020

I’ve been raking leaves for the past few weeks 🙂 autumn is so tiring 🙂 I want winter to come so that I can sit in my warm house and have a movie marathon when I’m not writing, teaching English, or playing music. I also need to figure out a way to cut the condensation in the cellar where I keep all the harvest. The doors are already rotting because of the condensation. I need to find a solution for that. The humidity is also very high. It should be drier.

December 6, 2020

@jackolanthorn Charcoal briquettes?

There are plants that adsorb moisture in the air also.

Silica gel is actually a form of silicon dioxide that absorbs humidity. And while those tiny little packets aren’t much good for a basement – you can actually get it in bigger ‘dehumidifier boxes’

December 2, 2020

Thanks for sharing and caring for our inviroment.

December 4, 2020

@pennocking
Yeah, it is a very steep uphill battle but I try what I can do. I try not to waste electricity water or gas. I try not to consume a lot of packaged products, and I don’t use a damn car but I prefer public transport when I need to go somewhere. I have a bike and soon I’ll also get a horse.
You are welcome 🙂