I killed it

My vacuum that is.

Normally LJ grabs the vacuum (to keep from doing other cleaning) but last night I decided to do it before he got home from an after school event.  About halfway through vacuuming it starts making a horrible noise and smoking.  I shut it off and tried to figure out what happened but I couldn’t find anything wrong.  I let it sit until I got back home and it didn’t make a noise or smoke, but it wouldn’t pick anything up.  There was suction, but it just didn’t pick anything up.  I dropped it off with my brother this morning to see if he could figure out what was going on with it.

Randomness:

The kiddo is doing better in school and his grades are getting better.  He was diagnosed at 5 with ADHD (both types) and last year with severe depression and anxiety (he’s 15 now).  He’d given up on school, would camp out in his room only coming out to eat and use the bathroom, wouldn’t shower, had stopped interacting in extra curricular activities, and was so so quiet all the time.  It scared me, and apparently some of his friends because they contacted me about his behavior – it wasn’t just at home.  He’s been seeing a counselor every other week and a psychologist monthly.  His medication was changed and we started working on the depression.  He’s started opening up more and has found therapy through art and music.  His anxiety is more deeply rooted and it’s been a struggle, but I think that he’s handing it better.  His grades are reflecting the positive changes.  I’m unable to get the school on board to an IEP or 504, but they did change up some of his classes and he has extra help.  He still struggles the most with writing.. he just hates to write.  He had a project on the Holocaust and it included a verbal presentation and a journal… he aced the presentation and didn’t even do the journal. Of course, I didn’t find this out until after the assignment was turned in.

Dad is doing better with dialysis. He’s able to drive himself now and he seems to be in a little better mood.  A few times they had trouble sticking him, but it’s gotten better.  He’s still eating things he shouldn’t be and his blood work showed it the other day. He has access to a dietician so I don’t know why he doesn’t ask her what he can and cannot eat.

My latest blood work is back and there’s some abnormalities, but nothing that jumped out at the doctors. So now I wait and repeat the tests or we do more tests to determine what’s going on.  I did have my urine sample come back with high levels of red blood cells, so it was sent off for cultures and it appears I have a UTI so I’m on an antibiotic for that.  I didn’t have any signs or symptoms of it so maybe that’s what caused my blood work to be messed up?

The weather is slowing warming up (or was) so I’ve been doing some walking and I started an exercise program Monday. I’ve watched demos and read tons of reviews for it and I finally broke down and done it.  I’ve noticed a difference in the way I feel (not as achy) and I’ve changed my eating habits to go along with the doctors recommendation (whole food, plant based). I figure I’ll give it a month and see how I feel.

…Well my brother said that something inside the vacuum is broken – it controls the brush. So it looks like I’ll be shopping for a new vacuum this weekend.  RIP Dyson…

 

Log in to write a note
February 16, 2018

The Dysons are pretty modular in design. If you just order the part from them, they swap out easily at a fraction of the cost of a new one.

February 16, 2018

Check ebay for the part! I’ve been able to save a few pieces of camping gear doing that.