Three Rounds

CPAP machine: 3

JC: 0

I’ve never had a problem with change, but this CPAP machine isn’t making it easy to adapt.

For insurance purposes I have to use it at least 4 hours per night.  Last night I clocked 3 hours and 45 minutes, which is about the same as the previous two nights.

It takes me forever to fall asleep with it on. I’m not sure if it’s the air blowing in my face (which I’ve never cared for) or the mask that’s strapped onto my head.  I end up taking it off in my sleep most of the time, which is scary when I think of the time it takes to put it on and properly attach all the velcro and magnets.

When I do manage to wake up with it on my nose is stuffy and my throat is sore.. which is one reason why I need the full face mask because I open my mouth.

I’ve tried adjusting the settings (ramp time and humidity level) as well as adjusting the mask. The mask fits and gets a good seal so I don’t think I need a different size.  I cannot change the pressure of the airflow, but I’m wondering if it’s getting high and that’s when I take it off.  Because I had a home sleep study they weren’t able to determine what my pressure should be at so I have a range… 6.0 to 20.0… it automatically adjusts to what I need.

Also, I discovered that the data isn’t being transmitted to the providers like it should be.  I’ve followed all the directions given to me and it just doesn’t work. I have a call in to the place where I got the machine to see what needs to be done. If I need a new machine then I hope they have a replacement, because I don’t want to start this whole process over again.

Tonight, I’m busting out the tape to see if that helps.  Wish me luck!

Log in to write a note
February 15, 2018

Good luck, that sounds like a pain hope you get it working right 🙂