HEY, IT’S GOOD TO BE BACK HOME AGAIN!

Wow, it’s been seven years, and I just found out OD is back in service.  I went to another site, and even found a couple of old OD friends here, but it wasnt the same for me.  I really liked it here.  My last post was about my son, Brad….That’s the most drastic change of all in the last few years.

Shortly after the last post, Brad and I had a long father and son talk.  He finally decided to put effort into his future. He got married, had a baby, then discovered he had also fathered a son he didn’t know about, but he and his wife were determined to make him a part of the family as well, and had reached out to the child’s mother.  Unfortunately, before Bradley had a chance to meet his son, a drunk driver hit him, his wife, Shea, their five week old baby, Raina, and Shea’s 2yr old daughter Sienna. By the Grace of God, the babies were unhurt, but both Bradley and Shea were killed.  We went through all the grief and turmoil of losing yet another child/brother and set about the business of making sure the girls were taken care of.  Sienna had the hardest time, she can still remember the wreck, but she is flourishing with her biological father and his wife and other siblings.  Raina has no memory of them, which is both a blessing and not to me.  It bothers me greatly that she will never know them, but she is with my oldest son Brandon and his family and is doing great.  And I met my other grandson Micah, and he has also become a big part of our family.  So, in the end, we lost much and gained much.  Nothing will ever replace my son or his wife, but we take the life we are given and do the best we can with it.

I hope to see some of my old friends here again. If you’re out there, drop me a line so I can get back in touch.

Log in to write a note
October 9, 2020

I am so sorry for your losses. Welcome back to OD.

October 11, 2020

I am so sorry for your loss,

be safe, take care, welcome back!

October 22, 2020

Welcome back…6 1/2 years between posts isn’t too bad.   🙂