Rainy Day and Thursdays Never Get Me Down

Okay, told myself I was going to get back in the OD saddle, so here I am again!
Been raining here in my portion of the Lone Star State pretty heavily since yesterday. My yard is under water for the most part, and I live on a hill. Lots of flooding in my area today.
Worked at the prison all week, and yesterday got soaked. My new rain suit didn’t work so well. Maybe I should actually TAKE IT OUT OF THE CLOSET! Just a thought. I worked in squishy shoes and wet clothes for twelve hours….yuck.
I did get some rest last night however. Slept in until nearly 5am this morning, and that almost never happens. So at this time I am rested and highly caffeinated. Watch out world, lol.
Brian just left for school, Bradley worked at the fire department last night and is going to his new regular job this morning, so I won’t see them until this evening. I go in to my security job at eight, so very little time with them much for Halloween. I think this is our first Halloween not spent together doing a fall festival or haunted house in, like ever. I guess it’s bound to happen. Going to have a nice dinner ready for them. My friend is coming over for coffee after she gets off work and before my errands start.
Buying tires for the pickup for Brad this morning so we don’t have to worry about blowouts on the way to work and such. He hasn’t drawn his first check yet, so gonna help him out a little.
After tires, going to go see my eldest Brandon and my grandsons for a couple of hours of quality time. Haven’t been able to do that since August, so I’m psyched about that, I can’t wait!
After that, it’s off to the grocery store with my list. Buying some holiday ingredients to start planning the big feast day on Thanksgiving, and looking forward to the holidays more this year. Last year was the first season without their Mom, and we were all still reeling and didn’t really acknowledge the holidays, but this year is better for us all. There are always going to be empty places at the table, but it gets easier as time goes by to remember more than just the loss. The happier memories always seem to surface and console us. Both happy and melancholy at the same time, although that doesn’t seem to convey the feeling. If you’ve ever lost anyone close, you probably know what I mean.
I’ve been on a housecleaning binge, and the old rat-trap is looking fairly decent for the first time in a long time, so I’m pretty self-satisfied on that score. Maybe I should open a housecleaning service? Or maybe not. The boys’ toilet was pretty scary, not sure I want to go through bathroom post-traumatic stress on a regular basis.
I’m still trying to block that stuff behind the sink out of my mind. I thought I was going to have to call in Sigourney Weaver to help me eliminate the aliens for a little while. Not sure what that was, but it’s gone and disinfected now at least. Pretty sure it tried to crawl away from the bleach, but maybe I just inhaled too many fumes.
So, now it’s time for that 10th cup of coffee, because I’m not quite hyper enough, and I can’t yet see through walls. MORE CAFFEINE!!!!!
Then it’s off too the races; watch out world, I’m on the move, lol.
Everyone have a lovely day, and if I don’t check in before-hand, an even lovelier weekend. (is “lovelier” even a word?) I’m not sure, my mind seems to wander this morning. Maybe I need to put on another pot of coffee……

Log in to write a note
October 26, 2013

Good grief don’t fancy those hours much – you must be exhausted! Nice to see you back though 🙂

October 27, 2013

busy guy, I’m glad things are running on a more even keel again for you, take care, and take care of yourself, hugs

October 28, 2013

I’m thinking that cruise idea sounds just about right…

October 30, 2013
October 31, 2013

Post-traumatic bathroom stress – I like that! You sound like you’ve had quite enough caffeine already mister – step away from that coffee pot …… but it’s nice to see things looking up for you – long time coming!