Texas Summers….

Well, my air conditioning is out, and with the advent of school year expenses, I won’t be able to pay a repairman for another week.  With  100 degree plus weather, it’s not comfortable at ALL here.  But, we’ve endured far worse situations, this too shall pass.  And maybe it’ll help me sweat off the last few pounds I’ve been working on.
 If I can lose 11 more pounds, the grand total from my top weight will be 315 pounds lost.  I haven’t weighed over 250 in several years, but that would still be awesome.  Almost under the 200 lb mark for the first time in 30 years or so.
All has been quiet on the home front.  Bradley has been in  housecleaning mode, which was badly needed.  As I type, Brian is cooking an early supper so we can go to the fire station and eat it with his brothers.  That’ll be fun.
Nothing drastic going on, just housework and laundry for my days off.   I applied to a new job, which I think I have, they’re just waiting on my high school to send them my transcripts to prove I actually went to school.  They wouldn’t accept my college diploma though.  It should stand to reason if I graduated college with a degree, that I have a high school education.  Go figure.
Brian’s social security benefit has been cancelled since he turns 18 in a week.  My baby boy is grown and almost ready to go out into the world with his brothers.  Makes me feel old.  Since he’s still in school, I have to file paperwork to continue the payments until he graduates.  If the second job comes through soon, I will be able to put more oft his money back for college next year.  
My eldest, Austin, is on my mind this month.  On the 31st he would have been 32 years old.  Spending a lot of time reminiscing, wondering what his life would have become had he lived longer.  Thinking about the wife and children he would have undoubtedly had by now, what his career path would have been, what kind of man he would have been.  Eighteen years was such a short time to have him, still daunting to think about the years ahead without him, even after all this time.  But I still have his brothers, and as aggravating as life can sometimes be, I thank God daily for blessing me with them, warts and all.  I don’t know where I would be without them keeping me grounded.
Also in August, my "baby" sister turns 48.  Day after tomorrow actually, though I hadn’t looked at the date until just now.
Going to the theater tomorrow with the boys and some friends from work, and then Saturday is back to work day.
Not much else happening, just felt the need to check in and update everyone.  Hope you guys have a great weekend coming up.

Log in to write a note
August 22, 2013

I am glad the boys are helping out. That makes it easier. The loss of a child is something we never get over. I know I think of my son often and wonder the same things. I hope the 2nd job works out. I hate that you need to have 2 jobs but I am grateful that there are men like you in the world who don’t mind doing what it takes to provide for their family. Big Hugs

August 22, 2013

I am new. We have much in common. I am just under 50, two sons in college and I teach high school art in Texas. I am happily married and less than a week into having an empty nest (omg) with my 18 year old- An Aggie. My oldest is a Junior…Longhorn. My husband is an Ag. I’m a Longhorn and somehow it’s fitting Anyway, I haven’t begun my diary yet, but it seemed something to do in this weirdness.

August 22, 2013

big hugs

I am the above poster. I tried to make an entry but this site has too many bugs. I think I will go find a different one. Wish you the best.

August 23, 2013

You’re not old….