Waiting for Fall

 Well, it’s been blisteringly hot down south this summer.  I checked the outside temperature at work yesterday and it registered 104.6.  I felt okay with the heat until I saw how hot it really was, then it suddenly became all but unbearable.  Sometimes ignorance really is bliss!

Things at home are at a standstill.  Spent WAY too much trying to get a vehicle running, and so far no go.  The mechanic promised me my van would be ready tonight.  I hope so, I’m supposed to go to orientation on the part time job in the morning and I haven’t got any way to get across town as of this moment.  Not good.

Brad didn’t get into school as planned for the the fall.  It was his fault to a degree, but not completely.  He went in to get the financial part in place on the last day.  The financial office didn’t get the paperwork done in time, and they dropped him from his classes on the day he was to start.  We go back in November to make sure it’s all done early for the Spring semester.  I told him that was the reason I kept pushing him to get it done early; so any problems could be addressed and resolved in plenty of time.  He told me that I love being able to say "I told you so".  Not really, because he makes it so easy, lol.  The school held on to my down payment for the next semester.  It will go towards his classes, so I guess I can live with that.  In the meantime he’s on the job hunt.

Brian started his senior year of high school last week.  He has his first test today in Economics class, and was grousing about that saying he hates Economics, Government and English, which are his only required courses this year.  I asked him what he DID like, and he told me "culinary".  Ah, a teenage boy and his food…..

Sunday was Brian’s eighteenth birthday, and Saturday would have been Austin’s 32nd birthday.  Always a bittersweet weekend for me but I try to concentrate on having Brian to celebrate with rather than mourning my loss.  I deliberately refrained from talking to Judy (Austin’s mom) last weekend to help me keep from getting too far down in the dumps missing Austin.  Eighteen is a landmark birthday, and I wanted to be able to give Brian the time and attention he deserved without any dark clouds.  I think I succeeded.  

Next month Bradley turns 20, and Brandon 28.  Their little sister turns 19 on the 2nd of October, so a lot of birthdays for the Halloween season.  

Anywho, not a lot else going on other than stressing somewhat over money and vehicles, but that’s status quo.  We’ll make it whatever happens.  I keep telling myself if I don’t get the job because of this, it’s because there’s something better on the horizon.

Log in to write a note
September 4, 2013

Hope everything gets fixed on the car situation, and you don’t have long to wait on Fall getting here. I guess your Fall isn’t much like the one we’ll see, and ours’ is already showing signs of getting started. 🙂

Have been reading a while-Not sure if I’ve noted before but… It’s refreshing to read about such a dedicated dad through ups and downs! Here’s to you:)