My Parents Not Married

In trying to get my Mums a state ID they wanted proof of how she got her last name, like a marriage license. I spoke with my older sisters and none of us ever recall seeing a marriage certificate. Mums has a story about how the justice of peace that married them later got into trouble for not filing the marriages but she recalls calling and speaking to someone and was told she and my father were legally married. Her memory can be a little off as she cannot recall who she spoke with. Anyway, we have called and wrote to every county that it could have possibly taken place in and where the documents should be but nope, nothing has come up. Strange shit and I think it is a hoot, she does not. I told her just to go and change back to her maiden name, it seems the only option as she cannot go without an ID. My sisters are upset.*blank stare*, why, what does it really matter. Our father has been dead so long at this point that no one remembers him anyway.

Maybe I am not thinking it out right.. not really sure how it can matter.

Leaving today to go to our river house. I would like to spend the fall there…. I think except it means I will be there alone cuz hubs work is coming to busy time… boats must come out of water now.

 

Log in to write a note
August 23, 2013

she was probably never married and never wanted to admit it to you hahahahaha ask her that and see what she responds. Once upon a time a long time ago children got called a terrible name if parents were not married. i am so glad we have moved a long way from there. I read a book called the scarlet letter and it had the most impact on me and I have never forgotten it. they persecuted this woman for getting pregnant out of wedlock and made her wear the scarlet letter. It was a big red A. Turns out it was the priest who got her pregnant. one of the ones making her wear the letter. I love you friend. xxx

August 24, 2013

Ryn: thanks so much for the support and well wishes. It means a lot. I feel completely alone with all of this. It’s the most trying time of my life. I pray for the strength to endure.

August 28, 2013

lol… I dunno, I think that’s kind of a very funny family history story, myself!