I’m Korean I need your help

Hi. It’s first time to write here. I always just read your daily story. Because it’s interesting to know in totally other side of the Earth and I need to learn English.

As you can see,  My English writing is terrible.

Anyways, I’m Korean of course not from North.

I have a boyfriend born to be the States. We’ve been together for 7 months. We think our relationship is strong and special. But only problem is we are long distance relationship from April.

I’m so sad since my bf’s dad and grandma said to my bf that he better meet the other girl living next to them. What’s problem with me..? Because I’m Asian? or I can’t good at English? or.. Why..? You guys think same as them if you have a son having a Asian girlfriend?

Really wondering the thinking in third party.

It would be so thankful to let me know wrong grammar or something like that.

And Please comment me your opinion.. It hurt my feeling after hearing what they said.

Log in to write a note
July 5, 2020

Anyung haseyo! (I only knew a few words, because my martial arts master is Korean too).

I would think it’s because they are concerned about the long distance. I doubt that it’s because you’re Asian, but if it IS because of that, you should not pay attention to them. If they feel that way, THEY are the ones with the problem, not you. Talk to your boyfriend about your concern – he should put your mind at ease.

By the way, I understood your English perfectly, you speak it much better than some people who have been in the USA for YEARS and still don’t speak a single word of it.

July 5, 2020

Hi!

I may not be the best person to talk to you, given that I’m a native english speaker, and I don’t want to use cringy analogies here too. But.. if he’s genuinely considering leaving just because you aren’t as fluent in english as he is, do you really think that it’ll be worth it. I don’t know how strong your relationship may be, but as many like to say, love itself is a language. Communication is important in a relationship, but since you’re already maintaining a long-distance one, I doubt that is given top priority. Me myself, I don’t believe there is anything wrong with Asians, other than the narrow-minded beliefs of them being a magnet for COVID-19. And your english is really not that bad. You’ve just got some grammar issues, but that shouldn’t make a difference. If he’s truly considering leaving you, then I’m sure you can find someone who will appreciate you. You seem like a lovely girl (or boy) and it’s okay. If you would like to learn english though, I would recommend immersing yourself in it, practicing grammar, reviewing vocab, etc. I’m trying to learn French, so this is what I’m doing. Best of luck!

July 6, 2020

Your English is amazing compared to my Korean! I only know a few words. Even though you made some grammatical errors, I could understand completely what you said completely so great job! I won’t band all of the errors, but one example would be “I have a boyfriend born to be the states.” Would be “I have a boyfriend who was born in the states.” Also, a comma should go after “special” instead of a period. It should read as “ We think our relationship is strong and special, but the problem is that we have been in a long distance relationship since April.” I hope this helped! Also on another note, I agree with the other comments. It’s horrible that a family wouldn’t approve of a relationship just because of a language barrier, but it doesn’t matter what they think. Your boyfriend shouldn’t listen to them and if he does, then he doesn’t deserve you.