What are the job descriptions, what’s changed?

I don’t know if I help her when she’s sad. What I tend to do, what I think a lot of people don’t, is to just be quiet. Let them talk, let them think it out before puting something in there and messing up an emotion, changing it.

And maybe I’ll make a question here, or a little joke there, but I don’t know, what do I say? I can’t help you, and you’re not asking for my help, you’re just wanting to say something, to have it be heard.

So what can I say? I wonder if I could cry to you anymore.

Log in to write a note
January 12, 2005

Sometimes that’s what everyone needs. Just someone to listen. My mom doesn’t get that. She thinks there’s an answer to everything, and she thinks she has that answer. Sometimes I just wish someone would listen and nod politely. And hug me when I’m through. If you can do that, you’re a great person.