Mary Kay Man

Just saw a advertisement for a movie on Mary Kay Cosmetics and that brought back a lot of memories of my time as a Mary Kay Man!

http://www.marykay.com/

An old Army buddy contacted me one summer and wanted to know if I knew anyone who would be interested in selling Mary Kay skin care products.

This old Army buddy was a female Warrant Officer who was selling Mary Kay skin care products in anticipation of her retirement. Apparently she was doing a very good job in skin care sales and already had her own sales team and a red car.

I did not know anyone who would be good at sales with the exception of ME.

Since I was already retired from the Army and was between full time jobs at that time the sales job did not seem like a bad deal. I ask my buddy if men were allowed to sell skin care products for Mary Kay. The answer was yes, so I signed up and got my pink case, a training manual, and of course a sales manual.

http://www.famoustexans.com/MaryKayAsh.htm

As I have said many many times, life is stranger than fiction!

On Monday of the next week I attended my first Mary Kay sales meeting. In this little town of Alamogordo, NM which may have had 25,000 people in it. There were 35 women and two men who sold Mary Kay skin care products in this little place in the sand. Yes, there was another man in attendance at the meeting. I had a great time at the meeting, which was held every Monday to keep the sales force motivated.

I must say I was motivated, how many men get to attend a meeting with 35 women every Monday night!

The second sales meeting was good but Mary Kay sales meetings are motivational and intent on getting a person to spread the word. Mary Kay sales folks can be vicious and nice at the same time.

We talked about sell, sell, sell, use the arms length rule (tell everyone with in an arms length about Mary Kay) sing, memorize, practice sales, make contacts, and do the job.

 

This meeting was intense since I had not sold anything in the previous week.  As I mentioned Mary Kay sales managers are not shy and will put you on the spot in a minute when you do not make sales, but will also help you learn how to make the sales. If you sell, sell, sell, everyone is happy, happy, happy, if you do not make sales you could be ask not to come back to the next sales meeting.

MK sales managers are in this for the bucks as well as the fun and that is how they get the red and pink cars!

I decided I could sell a lot of lip stick and hand cream to women without getting to caught up in the facial makeovers. I knew how to lead the make over class (no hands on facials in Mary Kay for anyone, male or female, the customer does the facial while you walk them through it), but found out that women liked having me lead the make over class but did not want to take off their make up in front of me.

Yes, I lead several make over classes, but no one would take off their make up in front of me, but they would buy the product. That is when I decided to push Satin Hands hand cream and any kind of lipstick.

I knew that in this little town, which was located on a major highway that everyone had to use to get to White Sands National park, I could sell Mary Kay skin care products to the tourist. Yes, tourist who were passing through would stop at the the one and only diner and steak place in town, see my Mary Kay sticker on my white Chevy truck window and seek out the owner of the vehicle-me.

In every instance the women tourist needed lipstick and hand cream. This was the land of sand after all. I would just happen to have what they needed in the back of my truck. Yes, I was selling Mary Kay skin care products out of the back of my truck in a parking lot. Laugh if you will, but I was selling cases of the products weekly. One busload of women softball players bought a case of lipstick and a half a case of hand cream!

My third Mary Kay Sales meeting found me being the high sales person of the week. I got the nickname of High Dollar Bob, since I was the high sales person at most sales meetings for a six-month period.

You could say my most embarsing moment, though satisfying and fun, was being a Mary Kay Man.

I left the life of pink sales after a year

as

High Dollar Bob

to go back to my real job of being a

Shadow

 

Log in to write a note
July 16, 2004

i don’t think i would’ve wanted to take my make up off.. but i dont wear much.. but hey.. a man’s gotta do what a man’s gotta do.. and i am tickled to hear you were happy with it..

I too did Mary Kay for a bit … remember the meetings too well 🙂

High Dollar Bob. Your life is/has been stranger than fiction. I’m just glad your truck was white and not pink. *smile*

July 17, 2004

If the MK company had provided me with a pink truck I would have driven it….smiling

July 17, 2004

I had an orange VW for 15 years also, the company gave me a 25 percent discount on the purchase because of the color. Loved that VW.

I too sold Mary Kay at one time and even now think it is great make up just a tad expensive. Betty

April 18, 2010

Not heard of Mary Kay make up, is it just for America ?