Memories of College and real life

Full time college made no sense to me in the 70’s but part-time college did make sense.



In the late 69 I left the safety and security of high school for the uncertainty of college.

I arrived at college with no idea why I was there or what I was going to do while there. It did not take me long to decide college was not all it was supposed to be, at least not for me.

Football was not as fun and exciting in college as it had been in high school and I soon left the ranks of the jocks for the ranks of the ROTC.

Life in the ROTC and the College military rifle drill team was a lot easier on my body than football had been but even ROTC did not seem to generate much interest for me.

My attention span just did not seem to last when it came to math and English and the entire full time college scene just did not make much sense to me in those days.

College life to many seemed like the way to go but to me college life was not fun and I could not see how learning things that had no application to real life were going to help my live in the real world.

The life of a full time college student ended for me and I moved on to working as a police recruit while taking law enforcement college courses part time. This type of college work made sense to me and had application in my life.
Just as my work life, real world life and college life were coming together and life was starting to make sense Uncle Sam called me to active duty in the Regular Army in 1970.

My life has been filled with college, training, work and real life situations for the last 30+ years and I have loved each and every minute of it.

Log in to write a note

How lucky yo are to have a found a path you could enjoy so early. I think attitude is the key. It is more rewarding to enjoy the journey than getting there can ever be. Y? Becasue in general your whole life will be a journey and once you get there you journey somewhere else =)

Stopping by to say hello. Not many people can say they have enjoyed the past 30 yrs of their life. Count me as one of them. Sue DitchDoc

July 13, 2004

sounds like life and you were compatible…that is a good thing… i have tried to find joy in whatever path my life took…most time it worked.. sometimes… it just branched off… lol anyway… how are ya doing today?

Shi
July 13, 2004

I was so into college that full time for me meant going through four and a half year program in three and a half years.

Full-time college isn’t for everyone, even today. But I imagine you’ve done well in your chosen career and still find it challenging. (Hmmmm…challenging may be an understatement.) Hope your muscles/joints aren’t as sore tomorrow so you can continue your exercise program. Your cheerleader here is cheering you on! And on! And on! *smile*

July 14, 2004

Cheers are always welcome since I also cheer everyone on…smiling

July 14, 2004

I am fine, walking and gliding, and having fun along the way…smiling

July 14, 2004

It’s neat that though you left college as a 100% of your time thing, that it has been part of the fabric of your life ever since. You like to Do and Be while you’re learning.

July 14, 2004

>>>>> anyway.. got 3 new entries for favs only… i know you will like… just up my normal alley.. sensual and funny.. well maybe not lots of funny.. but i like it.. i need feed back.. you willing? hmmm?(ditto note)

July 14, 2004

GREAT ENTRY! So extremely revealing and personal. You are not alone. There are MANY that did not fit into the academic system so to speak… There is a lot of wasted time, red tape within their borders that sometime make them a serious challenge for those that think outside the BOX. I am one of them. I excell greatly in English and failed miserably in math…

July 14, 2004

Thank you for your recent notes by the way… I cannot remember if I thanked you, but they were great! Have a wonderful night… Ciao, Carla

Enjoyed this personal glimpse into your life. I live a very simple life and it’s enlighting to see how others think and the paths that they have chosen to take along the way. Obviously, you found your way and I am glad that it has been rewarding. Life is always interesting. Thanks for letting me stroll through some of your memories tonight~ (Adrift nsi)