Life [is] changing.

Deciding to quit my job was one of the toughest decision that I have ever made since I hit adulthood.  I worked with that Company for almost six years, the pay sustained my lifestyle and it was my comfort zone.  The thought of not receiving a bi-monthly paycheck is frightening.  I had a lot of questions that only adds up to my scare.  Where am I going to get money when I ran out of funds, and my working visa is still being processed.  How long will I be unemployed? How long will my saved up money last?

As I was trying to sort out my life, prepared a budget plan that would at least last me three months even without a job, few things hit me.  I have time, money and energy, all at the same time.  And somehow, it thrilled me.  It has always been life’s irony that some people or most people will not be able to have all at the same time.  When we are young, we have time and energy, but never had enough money to do the things we want.  In adulthood, we may now have the money and energy, but our time is mostly spent on work and do other more important stuff. And when we get old, we lose the energy to do the things we love.

I asked myself what is my reality.  There’s nothing much in my life right now and I thought that maybe it’s time for me to do something.  So instead of trying to stretch my budget, which I know most of it will only be spent on food, I spontaneously went on trips with some friends, and partied more than I ever did. I felt like I was no longer me, or I am trying to be completely different.  I wanted to go wild and don’t care of what the people would say.  They will always have something bad to say, anyway.

Now, it’s been five days since I arrived in this beautiful island of Siargao.  I have longed thought of doing this trip, but it was the “not-thinking-about-it” made me do it.  It is fun here.  And I’ll write more about it in my next entries.

Log in to write a note
November 13, 2018

Don’t live your life based on other people. Sometime you just have to forget all other stuff and just be and do what you want. Have fun and enjoy.

November 14, 2018

@sweetie04 thanks! I did have fun, but ended up going home sad cause I will surely miss lots of good memories from that vacation.

November 15, 2018

What an exciting change!