Someone Else’s Star

I don’t know if a lot of people know of this song, but ever since I’ve heard it, it became one of my favorite. I might have or have not mentioned before, but way back in 2013, I liked a guy so much that I prayed that he will notice me one day. Back then, he was brokenhearted. I was always with him and make it a secret mission to always make him smile.  But then things changed when I had a conflict with her sister around 2014, which made me decide to distance myself from him.  It was a tough decision, but I don’t want her sister to think that we only have this friendship because I like his brother.  I still continued to pray for that guy. And until one day, he finally found someone. Just this year, he got married and will soon become a father.

Then later that year,  I’ve come to like another guy again. He was smart, independent and knows what he wants. We texted everyday, asks me out for coffee and had those random times of hanging out together. But right then, I though he was just being friendly.  And even though I liked him, I wasn’t ready to enter into relationships back then. And he never asked, anyway. So early 2015, he also finally found someone. After their 4 months of relationship, he proposed to the girl. Now they’re happily married and are soon to be parents.

Below is the lyrics of the song and see what I mean. 🙂

Alone again tonight
Without someone to love
The stars are shining bright
So one more wish goes up
Oh I wish I may, and I wish with all my might
For the love I’m dreaming of
And missing in my life
You’d think that I could find
A true love of my own
It happens all the time to people that I know
Their wishes all come true
So I’ve got to believe
That there’s still someone out there who
Is meant for only me
I guess I must be wishing on someone else’s star
Seems like someone else
Keeps getting what I’m wishing for
Why can’t I be as lucky as those other people are
I guess I must be wishing on someone else’s star
I sit here in the dark
And stare up at the sky
And I can’t give my heart
One good reason why
Everywhere I look
It’s lovers that I see
Seems like everyone’s in love
With everyone but me
I guess I must be wishing on someone else’s star
Seems like someone else
Keeps getting what I’m wishing for
Why can’t I be as lucky as those other people are
I guess I must be wishing on someone else’s star
Why can’t I be as lucky as those other people are
Oh I guess I must be wishing
On someone else’s star
And maybe for those who have read my past entries, the guy I liked recently is actually engaged.  I wonder why it keeps happening to me.  But for the two guys I mention above, I know the girls they got married with, and they’re nice girls. Which I knew I can’t compete with them.  And I can sincerely say that they deserve each other. I continue to pray for their marriage and their future family.
Now, I’m trying to figure out how I moved on from those two guys, so I could do the same with my situation now.  I don’t know anything about his fiance, and all I know are the not so nice things he told me about her. But I do believe that there is still something good in that person. So I just pray that they’ll be more faithful with each other. One day, I’ll be fine and just look back on this memories as something which made me become a strong person. Hope that someday I will also be able to find that someone for me. And could finally say that I was no longer wishing in someone else’s star.
Log in to write a note
September 2, 2018

The beginning of this entry had my mind go to the movie Good Luck Chuck, every women this guy had relations with the next guy after him the woman ended up marrying. That’s very stand up of you to pray for the best for them. You will come across the person for you when the time is right. “Some people come into your life as blessings others come into your life as lessons.”

September 4, 2018

@sweetie04 True! I’m always reminded of that movie everytime I look back to my past experience. I don’t want to be selfish in praying for that person. Because if he ends up with me, he might not be happy. So I still pray for what is best for him, even if it’s not with me. 🙂