A Grabbyhands Update

One of my favorite Favorites emailed me to ask about the Grabbyhands situation and I realized I am way overdue for an update. That, and I’m doing my best to avoid thinking about it. Ostrich Syndrome strikes without warning.

Well, I finally went in and filed my complaint, then immediately regretted it when one of my…what do you call someone you hang out with who hasn’t really earned enough of your trust to be called a friend? Friendlet? Whatever, she admitted to me that she lied in her testimony, thereby hurting my case. She says she did it to protect me (I didn’t follow the logic, but I’m not sure there was any) and then went on to make me feel worse by adding about eleventeen other details I didn’t need to know. Since then I have basically refused to acknowledge the case even exists. Denial is my best friend (except, apparently, where matters of holiday weight are concerned).

My caseworker emailed me today to say the alleged offender has been interviewed, and has apparently produced a few ‘witnesses’ (note the quotes — if there is any stronger punctuation for indicating my exasperation with his charade of innocence, please let me know), so the case will go up for legal review soon. I’m struggling to remain nonchalant in the hopes it will fool my subconscious into not caring. I’ll let you know how that works out.

And now I must head off to bed at the not-since-grade-school hour of 9pm in order to make it to the gym at 5. If I have to suffer fools, at least I’ll be able to wear my skinny pants while doing it.

Log in to write a note