Best Friends

I just want to take time out and talk about my best friends. Landa and Honey. Note that they are my only friends. I’m such a loser. 🙂

I knew Landa first. We started out in middle school. Both of us inner-city kids being bussed to school. In our school, we all knew about each other, but never really met. We talked because we either had gym together or an exploratory class together (shop, home ec, etc.) Landa and I got really tight in the 8th grade, and from then on, the team of Fric & Frac was born.

I share everything with her. She knows the dirt behind the dirt (though she’s prone to forget most of it). I mean everything. I know all of her secrets, and her dirt behind dirt behind dirt, etc. (She was worse than I was). 🙂 She’s been around forever. When I need to calm down or for someone to slap me, I call her; she doesn’t spare feelings. I love her. We have a lot of everything in common except the football thing (loser). I have a hard time really spending time with her because she’s out in the county and I’m carless and I rarely have time without the kids. But when we do hang out, I don’t know how to act. We’ve come to the conclusion that my mother doesn’t like us hanging out because I don’t know how to come home. (Remember New Year’s)*LOL* In my last entry she left a note that says I’ve been mothering her for years. I think I have. It’s just that I feel that I have a right or a want to protect all those that I care for and love and keep close to my heart. But that doesn’t mean that I’m not a hateful bitch sometimes, because I can hold a grudge longer than a camel can go without water. I can’t really go in to detail about me and Landa, I’ve signed a blood oath. And unfortunately, I don’t forget a thing. So what I know about her will go with me to my grave.

Honey, I met her the summer before 7th grade started. There were a few of us that hung out in our neighborhood. Conceited as I was I thought I was the finest girl in the ‘hood. So when Honey moved in, I used to see her on her porch all the time looking sad. So one Sunday after church me and my friends and cousin invited her for a game of kickball. And that was it. But Honey, I had to work on. She lied a lot. She use to tell me all kind of stuff even lied about her age. She was pregnant so many times that when she did get pregnant for real I didn’t believe her. Then, we stopped being friends a couple of times too. She use to talk about me behind my back and she said things to, of all people, my cousin. She would come to me and tell me about what she said about me. My cousin is a mess creator, stays in the middle of it, and then wants to know why no one wants to talk to her. Anyway, if she wanted to go somewhere and I didn’t she would get mad because of that and then want to say that I was lazy. So being the cool person that I am I said f- her then. So eventually we started back speaking. We did everything together. I lost my virginity in her house during the summer before freshman year. Years passes and we became close again. Singing together in church and at home, thinking of things to harmonize. Then she got pregnant. Then her family moved. But I was over her house a lot and we talked on the phone. Then I found out that her rotten boyfriend was hitting on her. I came close to fighting him a lot of times, because I will not sit by and watch you do that to my friend. I hated him. So imagine how I felt when I found out she was pregnant again. But I stuck by her no matter what. That’s who I am. We eventually started a singing group with two of her friends and we were known as the “Shades of Ebony”. Honey-light skinned, Me-in the middle-, Ksh-two shades darker than me, LR-dark skinned. We had bad management, not enough group participation, so we broke up. That and everyone started having babies. So now, we just chill out. And everything is cool.

I can truly say that I am blessed. Now if I could only just get a man………….

bye-bye

Log in to write a note

You know I didn’t even read Michelle’s part. I’M THE BEST FRIEND. She’s just a filler. You know I hafta be the center of your world.(lol) Love ya!!

“Real” friends are so precious and rare, its so good to have them. 🙂 and THANK YOU so very much for your advice, I appreciate it. I hope ‘Shades of Ebony’ makes a triumphant return.

Thanks for all of the advise. E-mail me sometime cjm_02@hotmial.com

It’s great to have good friends. Everyone needs someone they can count on.

May 11, 2018

The man who finds you will be a very, very lucky man. One of the things I like most about you is your wide-open honesty with no desire to take revenge. You have a beautiful soul. That man will have pure gold in his hands.