calm down….no need to panic….at least not yet

Okay, yesterday had me freaked.

As far as I know, all they did was take a dust and water sample to test for the lead. After that I don’t know. But what I do know, and have known for the longest, the city was not going to help fix the house.

Okay, here it is.

When Butta tested positive for lead, my grandmother wasn’t notified. With E-man, they did. The city offered her a chance to apply for grant of some type to help fix the house so that it will be at least 98% (off the top of my head) lead free. They have been setting up appointments and not showing up to come and look at the house.

So, my gm decided to take them up on their offer. Thing is, the hous is old, very, very old. Since my mother was a little girl. So you know there aren’t any brand new pipes or anything running through the house. It’s not bad enough to be called condemned. It’s not like you walk through the house, touch a wall and it will fall on you or anything, but I can see how it can pose a hazard.

When they went up to mine and the kids room, their greatest concern was that there wasn’t a fire escape for us to get out. We need at least two ways to get out of the house. The only other path way out is filled to the brim with junk that my pack rat grandfather (R.I.P.) just stored in there. It’s a stair case that I’ve only seen empty twice in my life.

Now I have family pointing fingers at me. I point one right back at them, preferrably the middle one. But it’s not my fault that my son got lead poisoning. But the way that they see it goes like this:

If he hadn’t gotten lead poisoning then they wouldn’t be over there inspecting the house, and they wouldn’t have seen your room, yada, yada, yada……..They’ve been trying to get in this house for years and condemn it for years……..And that’s my fault right???

If I’ve never said it before, I’m saying it right now, and let it be known hence forth:

My family sucks.

Log in to write a note

I concur, your family does suck eggs. If they condemn the house, what about the inhabitants? Will they attempt to relocate you all? What’s the dirt on that?

As far as I knew the definition of family said something like being there for one another, and helping in the time of need. Ask your “family” what “family” means to them.. Keep your head up!

What??? It’s your fault that your kids have lead poisoning? ARGHH. Families are a pain in the *ss sometimes.

Mr. Wonderful