Who Am I

 

Who am I?

Karen. 37. (Not the “I need a manager” type Karen, I’m actually one of the most easygoing people I know. If you don’t count the depression/ anxiety I deal with in everyday life.) Moving on.

Mom to two pretty awesome boys. Jack is 12 and started middle school this year, Chris is 9 and in 4th grade.

Both are pretty serious soccer players, and both are really good at it. At the moment, Jack plays Travel, is in tryouts for school, and Chris plays rec. Both are boy scouts. Both are social butterflies.

Wife to Justin, going on 13 years.

We live in suburbia in a medium sized town about an hour and a half away from NYC and 40 minutes away from Philly (Philadelphia, for those who aren’t from this area) My husband and I both grew up in this town, went away to college, and now we’re raising our kids here. We have my parents, sisters, in laws, and friends all within 15 minutes of us. Sometimes it’s a good thing, sometimes it’s a bad thing, but knowing they are so close is ALWAYS comforting.

I work as a billing manager for GYN. I’ve known my boss for about 20 years ( I started babysitting for him when I was 13, his kids are in their 30s now) and started working for him a year ago. He’s type A to the extreme, smart as hell, and most people would say really hard to work with, but honestly, he’s one of my favorite people. (And he travels a lot, which is nice)

My life is…crazy. My husband works  as a government contractor for NOAA, and works 12 hour shifts. (12P-12A four times a week) and I work your basic 9-5 schedule. (Well, 8-4:30). Then I run to the elementary school and pick up Chris from extended day care, run to the middle school and pick up Jack from soccer practice, go home, eat, homework, and usually off again to soccer practice, PTA, or any other  activity we have that night.

In my spare time I either read ( A lot. Creepy gothic novels are my fave, but I read pretty much everything and anything. If I don’t feel like reading, i’ll watch anything from Bob’s Burgers, to Below Deck Med, To Riverdale. Or attempt to watch before I pass out on the couch… Mostly because at night, after I get the kids to bed, I don’t have energy for anything else.

 

It sounds like I live your basic suburban soccer mom life. In a lot of ways, I do, and I wouldn’t change it for the world.

My life is messy. We’ve had money problems, marriage problems, and one of my kids is special needs. (ADHD, Dysgraphia, Anxiety). I have Depression, an anxiety disorder, and pretty bad insomnia a lot of the time. It’s been a rough few years. I’m not afraid to talk about it, i’m not afraid to get into the hard details. I used to be one of those people who pretended life was great, put up the perfect posed shots on social media, and the like. Not anymore. In the past year I realized (through the help of a pretty amazing therapist who legit saved my life.) That life is meant to be messy. That i’m not perfect, my kids aren’t perfect, life isn’t perfect. Parenting is fucking HARD. Adulting is HARD, and pretending it isn’t will just give you one more thing to stress about.

So this is my life. The good, the bad, the insane.

 

Log in to write a note