I have faith

I have faith.  I believe in the system.  I believe that the grand design, the American experiment, was brilliantly conceived, and, even in the face of complete corruption applied overwhelmingly to its very core, can protect itself and survive.

It has been a hard two years (two years!) of watching this belief tested, pushed to the very brink by those who pervert the laws and give aid and succor to the least moral, all the while screaming that ethics, morality, and simple humanity to our fellows is the evil that will rot the country.

Well, thank heavens and the everso painfully slow process of law that things are finally turning in the right direction, that the apple cart is righting itself and the facts are finally being uncovered and examined.  The teflon Don is no longer quite so slippery and the rotten eggs he’s always dealt in are starting to stick.  It’s taken much too long, but I always held faith that the truth would come out.  You cannot deal in treachery on so many fronts with so many like-minded immoral and self-serving people and expect that the truth will never claw itself out of the grave in which you thought you had it permanently buried.

Had he not been so very smug and gleeful in his deceit from the very start, so vile in attacking everyone, weak and strong, foe and suddenly inconvenient, suddenly former friend, had he not always been the in the thrall of the every despot and so mindlessly methodical in defecating on the concepts of honor, courage, fairness, equality and compassion – I would not be filled with such a surge of uncharacteristic schadenfreude at this, the beginning of his very public and humiliating downfall.  Really, were he not such a nasty vindictive little soul, I might pity him.  What a sad man he must be to be filled with such hatred of others, sprung from such obvious insecurity and self-loathing.  It is a sad confession I must make that he has affected me to the point that, despite his evident need for pity, I can muster no compassion for him.

 

Log in to write a note
December 10, 2018

I hope you are right, I believe in the American Experiment too and I will be glad when this time is behind us! Welcome to Open Diary!

December 10, 2018

I’m hoping you’re right. I would love it if we were done living under Donald Trump.