My favorite quotes of all time.

Here are some of my favorite quotes I have ever heard. For everyone. 

"Holding onto anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else… you are the one who gets burned." 
-Buddha
 
This quote in particular I have come to live by. Life is much happier without holding onto grudges. Besides, it takes a strong person to let go of anger. The less angry I feel towards others, the more empowered I feel within myself. 

"Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle." 
-Plato

People might appear to be happy, but you never know what is going on beneath the surface. It is amazing to me the number of people who surprise me with stories of their struggles when they open up to me. Never assume…. there is nothing to assume. 

"Don’t believe anything you hear and only half of what you see." 
-Dad

Holy crap, if I had a nickel for every time this made perfect sense to me, I’d have a brand new car (I suppose a dollar now, due to inflation). The older I get the more I realize just how untrustworthy word of mouth truly is, and how things aren’t always what they appear to be. Do your own research if you are just dying to get the facts straight. Unfortunately, too many people out their twist stories to make them more interesting or to put themselves in a certain light. Mostly, don’t be "that guy" (or girl) that I just described. 

"This is your life and it’s ending one minute at a time"
-Fight Club 
Before you know it, you will be looking back on your life wishing you had done x and y differently. Live a virtuous live and appreciate the present, for it is all you have. Don’t lie on your death bed sobbing. Make sure the future you is proud of the current you. I have already learned this the hard way. Luckily, I have realized these things at a young age and I WILL be proud of my self come time to leave this earth. 

"God Damn! We just had a near-life experience, fellas."
-Fight Club
Sometimes, it takes a pretty intense experience to feel alive. I have evaded death on at least one occasion… I ought to be dead or brain damaged, but somehow I made it. I feel so alive looking back on the experience. 

"This is crazy… "
"People do it everyday, they talk to themselves… they see themselves as they’d like to be, they don’t have the courage you have to just run with it. "
<span style="color: rgb(51, 51, 51); font-family: 'lucida grande', tahoma, verdana, arial, sans-serif; font-size: 11.111111640930176px; line-height: 15.55

5556297302246px;”>- Fight Club
Have the courage to run with it! It is your life, you are living for you. People come and go, but you will always be there for you. Take care of yourself and do not let others discourage you (including society!)

"Nobody’ll rescue you, that’s just life." 
-Battle Royale
Only you can rescue you. You need to learn to depend on yourself. Sometimes it is good to have a shoulder to cry on, but never depend on the strength of others to lift you back to where you belong. As I said before… people come and go, but you will always be there for you. Learn to love yourself. Be independent. You will never know how strong you are until you learn to face a battle alone.
…By the way, Battle Royale, best book I have ever read… period. Much like Hunger Games, only I have a hankering that the author of Hunger Games had read Battle Royale previous to writing her Americanized version. Also a great book.

Much love to everyone. I hope you enjoyed these quotes as much as I do. <3
 

Log in to write a note
January 17, 2013

I like all your Fight Club quotes. Fight Club is my favorite movie.

January 19, 2013

I took a look at the sites to referred me to, thank you so much. I am definitely going to try some of those. I also never knew about CFS until recently hey, its a schlep, but it kinda brought me closure. Now I know whats wrong and why i feel shit everyday.

January 19, 2013

With the whole love life thing, yeah that does make sense hey, but its easily said, but now doing (O_o), thats its own boat all together… Its been hard emotionally for the last few months, I mean I only scraped the bottom of the barrel recently so there is nowhere else to go but up. I stopped looking, and have decided to calm down and enjoy my single life… –

January 19, 2013

– I mean for the last 4 years a relationship is all i knew. Its difficult to readjust to this “single” life. But baby steps 🙂