Car update vol 3

Just missed Nick from Kia this morning so I called him back.  Now that I know that I don’t have to drop any cash on the engine replacement and repair, I am not holding my breath when he calls

He said that the engine writeup that he and the service guys did was all complete and that it was sent over to the warranty company for approval. I know just about nothing when it comes to how they manage engines, but essentially they put together an engine on paper what is required for my car and they submit that cost for approval.  If it comes back approved, they build the engine aka rebuilt engine, and put it in my car. If it comes back not approved, they either go with what the warranty company wants or start from scratch building one

He said he’ll be in touch with any word from the warranty company

Jump to this afternoon, I get a call from Nick.  He said their engine was approved, I’ll have my car back in maybe 2 weeks?

I couldn’t believe it!  Now, parts is parts so it might take longer than that, so we’ll adjust if that happens.  Mar and I are going down over Labor Day, so maybe I could pick it up on the 3rd?  Nick said that sounded about right

Then he dropped this huge bomb on me

“I feel bad that you’re without wheels, so I am going to call Enterprise and pay for 10 days rental for you”

The universe and all the angels are holding me up in their embrace, that’s about all I can say. This man has gone above and beyond for me, doesn’t know me from Adam and has literally changed my life when it comes to this car

We worked out the logistics, will get the car on 8/24 and drive down to Paso with the pup and Mar will drive home separately because I am coming back after the holiday.  I called my mother and gave her an update.  She was as surprised as I was that he went so beyond and out of his way for me.  Perhaps it helped that I had a meltdown in the service department?  She said it definitely didn’t hurt lol

No words, seriously, no words. So much gratitude for this man and all that he’s done for me

Log in to write a note
August 15, 2019

That is great. It is difficult to be without a car.

August 15, 2019

@thespiritwithinme I didn’t have one for 4 years, rode my bike everywhere. I had an old lady cart that I walked with to the store for groceries lol.  Once I got a great paying job, I bought my car and love it.  But I am resourceful, and if I have to ride my bike to the train, I am ok with that

August 15, 2019

@kattster that is great though. You have to be in great shape from it.  I have a friend who rides his bike for enjoyment. I am amazed at how far he goes sometimes.

 

August 15, 2019

Maybe give him a gift card for MacDonald or something or maybe some cash to say thank-you?  This Nick guy sounds like real sweetheart.

August 16, 2019

@jaythesmartone I am thinking about having bbq lunch delivered to the dealership, for both the sales guys and the service department.  Yeah, Nick is one of those rare guys that does everything he can for someone, real stand up guy