Car update vol 5

Always something

Nick called and said that they are in there working on getting my engine out so they can start replacing it with the new one. Apparently when it seized it went into ‘hydrolock” and now it won’t budge. This kind of thing isn’t normally covered by the warranty (I am still confused why it’s not, I mean, they have to take the time to remove the old one right?)

So he called to authorize the time. It could take 15 minutes, it could take 3 hours. He won’t know until they get n there.  He’s going to call the warranty company to see if it can be covered as well

The dollar tally is climbing, I am also still struggling with my bike throwing flats (got another one last night) so my efforts to not spend money right now isn’t working out too well

Fingers crossed they can get it out quickly and I am not stuck with a huge labor bill

Log in to write a note
August 23, 2019

I thought it was all covered?  there should be no costs to you right?

August 23, 2019

@jaythesmartone Most if not all the work so far that they have done on it will be covered. This extra time apparently normally isn’t, which is weird to me. They asked if I wanted all new belts, etc. and I said, I don’t know what kind of damage the engine caused when it failed, so I am paying for that, around $600

August 23, 2019

@kattster ouch…Maybe wait till the engine is out so nick can see if they really do need to be changed?

August 23, 2019

@jaythesmartone I would much rather have it all replaced, so everything in there is new.  He just called and said when it seized it did a LOT of damage, there’s metal in the oil, it’s locked up really badly.

And the extra time was just approved by the warranty company