Flat on flat on flat

I have been a serious endurance cyclist for about 5 years now.  Before I was training for the AIDS Lifecycle, I rode that bike to and from work, 16 miles a day.  Mostly flat terrain, but I would mix it up a little to get my muscles confused lol

In all that time, no matter how many times I have watched someone do it, I cannot for the life of me change a tire.  Especially the back one, when you have to deal with the chain and derailleur, I know I would mess something up real quick if I did it myself

So I schlep my bike to the shop and have them do it.  I took my girl over to the Sports Basement when I got home from my parents house last week and got her all checked out, tube replaced, etc.

Rode her a few days and everything was fine.

Rode the half mile from my office to the train, nothing major, easy, traffic filled ride. I waited to get on the train and was talking with this sweet elderly couple about bikes and I noticed my front tire had gotten a flat.  Thank goodness the SF train station has a bike shop steps from the train platform!  I wheeled her over and talked with the tech about the flat.  It appears it’s an inside flat, which means something in the rim or the tire caused it.  He’s thinking because of the low tire pressure (insert guilty look here, I hate when I don’t keep up on that) and the bad roads, it was probably pinch flat.  Meaning that the tube hit the rim in such a way that caused a pinch and then all the air escaped.

Got me all changed out, I got on a later train and rode the 6 miles home.  Felt great, nothing much to report other than I found a less hectic way home so I can avoid the main street traffic

Went to get out the door for my lovely morning ride this morning and that same tire was flat! Now I know it’s something in the rim

Took a lyft to the train station and once I got to the city I stopped at the bike shop.  We talked and agreed that the rim might have something causing these leaks. He very nicely handed me a tube and said to keep him posted.  Mar is going to shove my bike into her Civic and take  me over to Sports Basement tonight.

Oddly, I would much rather spend the extra cash on my bike than my car.  I get joy from both of them but cycling is different, it’s meditation for me.  And I know this will sound weird, but it’s definitely the shiniest of silver linings with my car engine issues.  I get to ride my bike again, and it’s been so great for my soul

Log in to write a note
kat
August 15, 2019

I love biking! I bike every day for 30 to 60 mins

kat
August 15, 2019

ps what is the AIDS lifecycle?

 

August 15, 2019

@kaliko The AIDS Lifecycle is a 7 day, 545 mile ride from San Francisco to Los Angeles.  It takes place the first week of June.  I have ridden it twice.  I am on a cycling team that helps riders train for it. Average per day is about 85 miles, longest day is 109 miles

August 15, 2019

@kattster absolutely wonderful

August 15, 2019

They have such cool bikes now a days they look almost like the million dollar cars…..

August 15, 2019

@jaythesmartone My road bike was almost $2,000, it’s definitely pretty cool

August 15, 2019

That is wonderful that you ride like that.