Here he comes again

I went to downtown Sunnyvale on Saturday for their free jazz.  Mind you, I am perfectly content to stay on my couch and knit.  I’ve taken to ‘knitting my feelings’ which is infinitely better than eating them, but since this new diet has me rethinking all the stuff I put in  my mouth, knitting is a good alternative.  And it produces great results, so it’s a win all around

I sat having dinner, facing the street where they closed it off.  They put up tables and chairs, and all the restaurants along where the stage was had outdoor seating.  It was fun, and I am really glad I did get out of the house

As I was sitting there, I got a notification that someone wanted to follow me on instagram.  I opened up the app and noticed that it was someone that we had friends in common, so I clicked ‘accept’ and checked him out.  Much to my surprise, it was my friend Tony.

Tony and I have a very fond history, so it was really nice to hear from him and flirt with him via text, as I sent him a note asking him if he was stalking me on insta. It was nice, to have someone genuine pay attention to me and not be some flake or a married guy on a singles app looking for local people to hang with (see above about knitting my feelings)

A part of me wanted to get excited, but most of me knew that getting attached to any outcome with Tony would only lead to heartbreak. He asked if he could swing by on Sunday morning, before I was appropriately dressed (his words, which makes me smile thinking of it) and I said sure, I’ll be up watching the soccer game.

Sunday came, he texted and said he was on his way.  When he knocked a short time later, it was so very nice to see him, have him close to me again.

We sat after I gave him a tour of my place and got caught up. He had some very serious health issues in the 2 years that we had last seen each other and it made me sad to think of the vibrant man that I used to tumble with back in the day.

His mom had taken a fall and was in the hospital, so he couldn’t stay long.  Gave me a hug, and went on his way.

We texted briefly the rest of Sunday and I sent him a text yesterday morning.  And that’s where we left it

Pretty sure that’s where we left it in 2018 when he said he saw someone that reminded him of me, and he reached out then, with little to no followup

Martine is like, I am glad you have someone to pay attention to you, we all need that.  I said, well, we have history so I probably won’t see him again.  Martine said, don’t be so negative!  Please…it’s the same old thing with Tony, and I am not mad at it, that’s for sure

Was nice for the moment that it lasted that someone I genuinely like paid some sweet attention to me

Log in to write a note