HR nightmare

At my last job, there was a guy that I had a massive crush on. He was such a dick to other people, but he often told me that I was the only one he could be real with, talk about anything with.  I liked that we had this friendship and that we could be real with one another.  I never told him about my crush but I think he knew.  He kinda overstepped once and the bloom was off that rose towards the end of my time there

Here at my new job, I have another guy like that.  Do I have a crush on him?  Yeah, a little, but nothing like I had with Brandon.  Pete is the network guy and my exec often tells me that no one likes to work with him.  Except I ‘get’ him, I had his number the moment I met him.  So now my exec calls me the “Pete Whisperer”.  When others get told ‘no’ from him, he goes out of his way to do things for me.

He makes me laugh so hard, and we have some really great conversations. People have been here 10+ years, himself included, and I am the new shiny toy and am trying to navigate and disrupt the status quo.  He’s talked me off the bell tower many times, thank goodness.  If I need advice, about work or life in general, he’s the guy I go to

We’re both HR nightmares when we’re together because it’s a no filter, gloves off kind of conversation and no one is safe

I went over to complain about the idiots in Facilities the other day and he responded with his normal ‘snap out of it’ kind of advice, made me laugh and I walked away shaking my head.  He came by later to talk with me more about what I had complained about and walked up and said, what’s up cry baby? I turned and said, what did you call me? He was like, nothing, what’s going on?

Still laughing about that…he’s another reason I am so glad I came here to work

Log in to write a note
August 22, 2019

It’s always nice to have a co-worker you can actually get some work done and you are both on the same page.  This does not happen very often but when it does you have lucked out.