Humans are the worst

My yoga teacher and guru’s wife is an amazing singer. She has a new album out and a tour to promote it. I immediately bought a ticket for the Santa Cruz show, because I just love going there for little trips and because I am in SF all day, every day, change in scenery is a good thing

Never been to this theater before. It’s a weird little retro place called the Rio. I am sure it’s seen it’s share of amazing artists.  Now I think it caters to indie artists and local stuff

I drove down there early, as I wanted to check out this brutal but short incline near the beach that is the highlight (low point?) of Day 2 of the AIDS Lifecycle.  It’s a brutal incline, that will break even the best of climbers. Even driving the route over to the Rio Del Mar beach, I started to get that panic feeling, knowing it was coming.  Pretty sure that’s PTSD to some extent. I parked and took a picture and posted it on the team’s Facebook page. Comments about it made me smile.  We all know and hate the Rio Del Mar hill

Then I got to watch this giant orange orb in the sky set into the ocean.  It was perfection. I watched as the neighborhood took their dogs for a walk along the water, people sitting watching the sunset like me, and moving along after it set.  Was a lovely start to my evening

Drove the no highway route back over to Santa Cruz (Aptos is a bit south of SC) and remembered every turn of each street as I drove along. Funny the things you remember. It was nice to see it in reverse too.

Got to a great parking spot along the street next to the theater and walked up the main drag to get some tea and something to eat.  Stopped at Whole Foods just to kill time and found the rye flour we need for Thanksgiving.  Always some weird ingredient in our menu that we have to source. I am glad there won’t be a goose chase this year (fingers crossed)

Threw the flour in the car and go up the street to the theater. I see there are a few people standing outside of the chains. I ask the first couple if the doors aren’t open yet and they said no.  So I stood and waited with them. A theater person came out shortly and said the doors will be open soon then proceeded to separate us into class of ticket.  Higher priced on one side, lower price on the other.  As one would imagine, that caused some confusion.

As we were loosely queuing up, I observed how people who approached the theater reacted to scene. An older Indian woman and an Indian couple walked up, walked right past me and the other couple waiting, and went to stand by the door.  Before we could say anything, the theater person came out and pointed to the end of the line and the older woman gave me such a look.  I just smiled down on her as they walked away.

This happened several times as we stood there.  It was fascinating to watch.  People would just ignore all of us standing off to the side and just walk to the door, only to be shown the end of the line.  To a one, these line crashers acted like it was beneath them to stand in line

Mind you, you’d think these folks would be a little bit more good natured, it was a concert for a band that basically is EDM and is pretty chill in nature.  I’ve noticed that certain types of people who proclaim to be enlightened, vegetarian, yoga goers are the rudest, most entitled people out there.  Which is so not on brand lol.

The circus continued inside while people were trying to find their seats. The fixed chairs ended at one point and the VIP guests were seated in the unmarked rows at the front.  I asked one of the ushers to assist me with finding my seat and come to find out, the seat that I had purchased had been removed for wheelchair and cane access!

The usher was totally confused but very sweet and she put me in a different seat nearby where mine was supposed to be.  Three different times people would come to where I was sitting and look confused and I would get up, point to the empty space and shrug.  The usher kept putting me in different locations and by the last time finally walked me to the front row, patted the unmarked chair and said, THIS is where you are sitting!

We had a good laugh about the musical chairs and she and I talked about Simrit and the band and how I knew them.  She said she really enjoyed watching the bands videos, so she was excited.

I then watched along the front rows the confusion of who sits where. This one couple was sitting along the side like I was and then decided that their seats were supposed to be in the middle section. After probably 5 minutes, they kicked out the people sitting in their spot and made a huge scene.

I just don’t get people. Why make a lovely evening out to hear some incredible music worse by making a scene? This couple and the one they kicked out argued easily until the show started.  What not just shrug and move on?  Yes, tickets are more expensive in certain rows, but hey dickheads, my seat that I purchased was MISSING! I didn’t throw a hissy fit and look where it landed me?

I find that a lot of people in this ‘community’ practice only for the benefit of others, not for themselves.  And I don’t mean for others insofar as they are helping others.  No, I mean they are doing it because they want others to see them going to yoga, wearing the clothes, doing the chants, wearing the wrist malas.

They are SO missing the point. As fun as it is to watch, it’s also a little painful too and I feel sorry for them

The more I am out in public, the more I want to stay home with my pup and knit

Log in to write a note
November 4, 2019

I think the saying goes…the more people I meet the more I like my dog or cat…..

November 4, 2019

I too prefer time at home w/ my dog at this point.