Is that negative?

A new guy started in our Facilities department, he’s a veteran and seems 100 times better than the previous guy

We got to talking and he said this:

“I knew you were in the military, you’re more aggressive than most women”

I took that as a negative, it has it’s connotations yeah?  Like the word assertive would be better

Several people, my therapist, and Alina, and the guard who is also a Marine, all said, nah, aggressive isn’t a bad thing

Thoughts?

Log in to write a note
February 25, 2020

I like assertive much better – for all genders.

February 25, 2020

Depends here is a link I found.  I wonder if the word should be  determined?

https://www.google.com/search?q=agreesive+is+a+good+thing%3F&oq=agreesive+is+a+good+thing%3F&aqs=chrome..69i57j0l3.8387j1j7&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

February 25, 2020

I’ve owned a business for 14 years. Most of my employees are male. I wouldn’t appreciate being called “aggressive” I never have been, and it wouldn’t be a way I would like people describing me.

February 25, 2020

Assertive and aggressive are two different things. Assertive is, “Please leave me alone.” Aggressive is decking the person you are talking to.