Not how it was supposed to go

Massive bike ride on Saturday, only 35 miles but literally every.single.climb in the local area was on it.  Like 3900 feet in elevation.  Woof

All of them I haven’t been able to get up in my years with my team

I was sweep so last, and there were some new riders with us, so I was there after getting to the top of each climb, talking through it with those that couldn’t make it, talking through shifting, etc.

I get to the rest stop and took out my phone, check messages, etc

It had blown up in the few hours that I hadn’t seen it

TL;DR my daughter got engaged, and didn’t want to talk with me on the phone before posting it on social media

Full story:

My daughter has had a checkered past with her now fiance. She knows that I do not approve of him for a multitude of reasons and would have said no had he had the balls to actually talk with me about marrying my daughter.  Not too long ago, he lied to her about getting his teeth done, then on their anniversary in December lied about taking something or drinking something, was clearly altered and essentially he told her to sleep at my place.  She didn’t and they worked it out, but what the actual shit

She sent me a text, saying he surprised me, a pic of her hand. That’s it, no call, nothing. Everyone thought she had called me so there were all kinds of texts asking me about her getting engaged, since she blew up social media about it.  All kinds of texts essentially saying, why is she still with this clown? All of our mutual friends think he’s draped in red flags and she could totally do better

I sent her a text after I was off my bike, and asked why she decided to post before talking to me. She said she knew I was on my bike and wasn’t available

Couldn’t have waited?  Cool (that was my response)

We had a brief little public fight on Facebook, and we took down our posts, as my friend Glenn said it wasn’t anyone’s business what we are going through. After my post though, which stated I learned all the important stuff on social media (her’s was grow the f*ck up), my phone once again blew up, with friends freaking out that she hadn’t called me to talk with me

No word from her all Saturday, all Sunday, until late in the day she sent me a text saying essentially that she should have called me, that she was sorry but what would a call have done, since I didn’t approve?  It’s her life, etc.

I replied that she would never have that moment back, that she took one of the most important moments in her life away from me and that she was selfish and thoughtless. To post it on social media and for me to find out that way was saying that she didn’t care how I felt, and that was what hurt most of all.  But, if she wanted to be with someone her mom and our mutual friends don’t trust, it’s her life. But we would all be there to support her

It’s now Wednesday, and we have not said a word to one another. I did send her an email about the place I was staying as they had a wedding there while I was there and she responded to me like I was a salesperson.

We go from texting all day long to not one word

To a one of my friends and some of our mutual friends have all said that she majorly fucked up and that she needs to come to me with an explanation. And that I am not in the wrong here

My heart is broken…she may choose him in this situation and that’s the hardest blow of all

Log in to write a note
February 19, 2020

If you are smart and I know you are way smarter then I will ever be…I would tell her congratulations but you are not paying for this wedding and in six months when she wants a divorce just say “That’s nice” get one on your dime…I told you so…..”