Paralyzed with information

I am shopping yesterday for more meals for my parents to freeze so that my mother doesn’t have to stand and cook when Kia calls. Not the most optimal place to have this conversation but I need to know what’s up with my car.  Nick the amazing service manager said they are sending out a warranty investigator. And that there are all kinds of scenarios to consider, as there are a lot of unknowns.  And the fact that warranty companies are not the first to say, hey, we’ll drop a few G’s no problem

Nick also said that he will have to disclose that Jiffy Lube overfilled the oil

There’s so much information that I am just dazed by it all, and certainly shouldn’t be out shopping and driving around trying to not get all in my head

Here’s the scenarios, and sub scenarios:

  1. Scenario 1: If the warranty investigator looks at the findings and determines it’s a bad engine, it’s covered by warranty, everything moves forward, I don’t have to pay anything
  2. Scenario 2: The warranty investigator could say, let’s break down the engine to the point of failure.  Then Kia will call me to authorize this work, this work of 17 hours and upwards of $2,300 in labor, to break down the engine then put it back together
    1. Sub-scenario: If they find the point of failure and determine it was because of the oil, and it’s not covered by the warranty, then I am on the hook for the breakdown and subsequent repair
  3. Scenario 3: If it’s not covered by the warranty, I was told to call my car insurance company, and that negligent auto repair might be covered under comprehensive.  They would pay for everything, rental car etc and then go after Jiffy Lube for reimbursement

Nick very kindly called Enterprise and got me a rental car set up under the dealership account so that I don’t have to pay full price.  I am just humbled by the kindness of someone who’s never met me before this incident, this dealership isn’t even my base dealership and they have all been super nice and really helpful to me.

So here I sit, last day at my parents, with all this information swirling around in my head.  I am comforted that at some point it will all get taken care of, and that I don’t have to shell out a crap ton of money right now.  Can’t worry about things you don’t have any control over right?

Log in to write a note
August 7, 2019

I would be going after Jiffy lube no matter what the scenario is…..and as far as the dealership I would be calling them my go to people because I like how they are treating you.

August 7, 2019

@jaythesmartone I have given this a lot of thought.  The fact that they denied any wrongdoing says they aren’t the most reputable of companies. If Kia does find that it’s just a bad motor, and repairs it, and I try to go after them, they can claim that Kia didn’t find them at fault.  If I have any out of pocket expenses, I will definitely be calling them and if they don’t pony up the cash, the manager, or the franchise owner will be served and I will take them to small claims

kat
August 7, 2019

if you over fill my car it can damage the Motor!

sounds like you have things pretty well under control