Shaming isn’t a good look

Why can’t people just accept one another?  Regardless of their size, shape, color, etc.?

I am not a small woman. I am tall, curvy, muscular, candy coated, whatever you want to call me.  I have often had to either bite my tongue or depending on my mood, clap back to some judgmental person who’s got something to say about what I do to or with my body

Today, I am riding along, enjoying the morning stillness when I roll up to a stop light.  I catch my breath, try to figure out how to get the light to trip, when this car full of idiots pull up next to me

Hey there, slow down, you’re going to give yourself a heart attack!  I hear over the music coming from the car, and snickers.  More of the same comments as I wait for the light to turn

I turn slowly to the car and lean over and say:

I will be dancing on your graves long before I ever leave this earth, what with your lazy habits and smoking.  I am TWICE your age and more fit than all of you to put together.  Chew on that while you’re eating crap and smoking.  Have a nice day

I roll off as the light turns but I was fuming.  What the heck is wrong with people?!?

I mean, my bike holds every last pound of me, quite nicely actually. Why do you think you need to judge me because I am bigger?  Shouldn’t you be applauding me?  Saying, yes! You go goddess, you sweat out your morning!  Working out looks GOOD on you!

It’s not new, like I said. If I wasn’t in a really good mental space, it would have hurt me.  My shields were already up since I am protective of my space while I am riding

Apparently it still chaps me because here it is, hours later, and I am still thinking about

Log in to write a note
August 12, 2019

People can be such jerks.

August 12, 2019

I don’t think I would have said anything….Then that way I wouldn’t be throwing sharp objects at these idiots….

August 12, 2019

People are just plain rude. I will never understand them.

August 13, 2019

People have done that to me all my life. I’m very fat and have been since I was 4 months old. I’m now almost 50. I have several diseases that hinder my mobility, including Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome. Every time someone shames me I just think of all the dieting, the painful exercise, and my naturally small-medium appetite, and I’m outraged that they’re judging me on the body that betrayed me while they’re eating sugary snacks and taking their metabolism for granted — things I never get to do.

I tell my daughter that everyone has an albatross, but some get theirs earlier than others. They’ll get theirs one day and they’ll be totally unprepared for it.

August 13, 2019

@scarletibis I see how people treat women with PCOS, who are extremely overweight, and do all the right things with their body to be healthy but their body betrays them.

We have our walls to protect us, but sometimes those arrows get through to our soft underbelly. Stay strong sister!

August 13, 2019

@kattster 👊🏻 🙂