The weekend ahead

The weekends between Labor Day and New Years suddenly become filled with bike rides and events, festivals and music. I think that’s why it goes by so fast, fall and the holidays.  I wish there were a way to just be present and enjoy everything

Funny thing about enjoying the moment.  I mentioned to Mar about my Irish adventure last night and about being beat for the training ride tomorrow and she’s like the adult in our relationship, said that’s good, just have fun and not over do it.  Out of the mouth of the adult child of mine

So I had an extra ticket for Ben Folds and Cake tonight at Shoreline. I posted on Facebook if anyone was interested because Mar my actual daughter and Alina my work daughter (they are the same age) weren’t interested.  Bubba sent me a text and we’re going to have another date night tonight.  I love him so much, we’re just living our best lives together.  I surprised him when he texted me this morning when I told him we upgraded to actual seats instead of the lawn.  Way too old for that crap lol

Then tomorrow, up early (which will kill me after two nights out late) for the first training ride of the season.  Not an official one, but Tim the team leader likes to get going early, get the legs moving and building some miles before we start the serious training. This season will be tough since James, Tim’s partner, passed away suddenly in May.  Tim asked me, sorta, to co-facilitate the team with him this year.  I have mixed feelings about it, but if Tim needs me, then I am there

I don’t have any real plans for the rest of the weekend after that. I might need to just sleep lol

There’s another art festival, this time near the ocean and Santa Cruz, that I might do to. I am trying to do things on my own, enjoying things without having Mar or feeling like I need someone with me to enjoy it.  Alina wanted to do brunch and while I invited her to go with me to Capitola, we might end up doing brunch instead and just chilling locally

At any rate, this life I am living is feeling pretty liberating.  I will remain in a positive state of mind and silence that second guessing voice in my head for a change, fingers crossed it works

Log in to write a note
September 13, 2019

Maybe this weekend you can have a Me weekend…have a nice bubble bath, light some candles and listen to some music…and maybe order in for dinner?