fathers day.

i am fortunate enough to have 2 fathers.
My dad and i have had a very bad relationship until the last few years. my mother died 3 years ago, my dad has Parkinsons and is in final stages of the disease which means now there is Lewis body dementia. in his fading light we have managed to put everything to rest and now have a fine relationship.
i drove to my hometown to have a celebration with him today and could not have been happier.
My other father is my father in law. I have known this man for 32 years. he has been more of a father to me than my own has and he inspires me. he is my council and my friend. there is nothing i would not do for this man, mostly because i feel as though i owe him more than i could ever owe anyone else in my world. If not for him i would not be the man i am today.
we spent the afternoon with him and as proud as i am to know him, i also feel like that simpering fool i was when we first met.
both men are the models for and of my life and i hope they know this…

Log in to write a note
June 17, 2018

so  sorry about  your  dad

June 18, 2018

Glad you had a nice Father’s Day with both of your dads.

 

June 18, 2018

thank you both.