my fathers eyes

i got a call from my sister today on my lunch break…

my fathers doctors are taking him off his parkensons meds…

the disease has progressed to the point where they no longer work…

he will be given ant anxiety meds and pain meds but nothing more…

his doctors are thinking 6 moths left of his life…

my father and i were never close…

not until 4 years ago when m mother died…

we spent time mending fences and learning about each other before his mind ate itself alive…

somehow he got the idea my name is kevin…

i know its a selfish thing to say however i would like to know when the onslaught of hurtful things will end…

so tired of being the opposite of happy…

Log in to write a note
May 18, 2019

sorry

May 18, 2019

I use to make house calls on patients with Parkinson’s, lot’s of them had delusions and became paranoid.  Accusing other’s taking their possessions.  It was hard on the caregivers.  I always sent in a home aide to help with baths twice/week.  They would become bedridden or chair ridden.  I would get an order for a Foley Catheter.  Adult diapers and something for sleep…either you give the patient or the caregiver could take it.

May 18, 2019

@nativewoman i feel a great swell of pride and awe for hospice personnel.  you give more than you get and you are angels on earth.

 

May 18, 2019

I am so so sorry….

May 21, 2019

Much love. 💜