stuff and junk

I had a talk with my Nephew who is headed off to college:
Mr. Nicholas, I would like to offer you the only advice that matters to you right now.
There are 2 commodities that you have at your command that you must be conservative with; time and tolerance…
My examples are this.
With time, once spent, it can never be redeemed. You must live every second of the day as though you have no time left. Pursue joy and interest and leave idol and ignorance in the rear view. Be the best you can be at what ever you do…
Tolerance is an even more precious thing.
Without tolerance the world becomes a very cold and bitter thing. Without tolerance there is no greatness, only the homogenization of the world to 2 levels, those who have and those who want. You must never be one who wants, you must rise above and become the one thing America has lost and that is a HERO…
You will always be my hero. I have known you my entire life and you have never let me down. You are joy and love and inquiry and effort and no matter what you become in life, I have your back…
You are the best person in the world and i will always be your biggest fan…

you see Mr. Nicholas has been tested at a genius I.Q. at the age of 6 years old. He wants to be a radiation oncologist because 2 years ago my wife had ovarian cancer and he decided he was going save her…

Log in to write a note
July 20, 2018

That is so amazing.

July 20, 2018

@queenofegypt thank you. He is everything i wanted in a son and to watch him grow into a man is the most amazing thing i have ever been allowed to do.

July 24, 2018

You write so eloquently. That was nothing less than beautiful and full of love.
Image already added

July 24, 2018

@thriftgirl62 thank you. and welcome to the family…