The Storm Before The Calm

This week has been a challenge. Let’s see, we had an employee leave last minute Friday to get her kids, so the weekend was rough. It sucked, but she had been fighting for a month or so to get her kids back, so I absolutely back her up for dropping everything when she got the emergency pick up order. Monday, we had a girl quit, but luckily the other girl got back Wednesday. I’ve been training a new guy, and I really like him so far. We’re still down a person and a half, so I told my boss that if she absolutely needs me, I’ll only take off for a long weekend instead of the whole week. She’s doing her best to give me the time I asked for, but I don’t mind helping her out. She does a lot for me, so I try my best to return the favor. I’ve been with her for 10 years, 6 1/2 of those as her assistant and right hand, and she’s always been an amazing boss. Monday evening another tire went flat on my van. I had one go flat a few months ago and I replaced it because we were in a good place, so it was easy. Then that one started leaking air, but it wasn’t too bad. By that time Darryl had lost his job and we just didn’t have the money, so we just made sure to put air in once a week to make sure it was good. A few weeks of that and the tire was done. We tried to patch it, but it was no use, so I borrowed my dad’s spare doughnut. I was trying to put money aside to get that one replaced, but then the other side went flat Monday afternoon. I wound up taking the bus to work Tuesday and my brother-in-law took me yesterday. Thankfully I have a lot of connections through my job and my customers are amazing. One of them has a membership at the scrap yard in town and he got me 2 almost new tires for $35. He came by this morning and switched them out for me. I could cry! So, after a rough start, this week has gotten a thousand times better. I’m so glad too because everything going on was causing a lot of grief for us. Darryl wanted me to try and sell the concert tickets to replace the tires and, while I know it’s stupid to get upset over something like that, I literally broke down. It’s not like I haven’t missed my favorite band being in town before, but I just feel like we need this so much and I’ve been fighting so hard so that we can take this time for ourselves. I bawled my eyes out and when he asked me what I needed him to do, well there is nothing. I just told him I need help. I mean, we are letting two people stay here, free of charge. They buy their own food except for dinner stuff most of the time, but we don’t ask them for any help. Of course, we were doing great when they moved in, but I’m seriously considering having them help with the electric and/or the internet because last month it was just me supporting 4 adults and 2 kids. I love helping people, but right now I don’t have the funds to do it like I was. It’s frustrating. Anyway, I’ll discuss it with Darryl and see if we can’t come up with some way of them helping at least a little. Other than that, it’s more of the same. I’m exhausted and my mental health is up and down. Of course, a lot of how I feel tends to depend on my weight each day and while it’s been on a downward trend, it doesn’t take much to fuck up my head. That alone is enough to make me want to stay in bed all day. I’m managing though. For now, I need to do some dishes and clean up some more around the house before Ville gets home. My store has a fuel up night where so much from each gallon of fuel purchased goes toward a local school and if I’m not working I take the kids up to the store so they can win stuff and get their faces painted. Plus, they usually take pics and last year Bella was in one of the photos that got selected to represent out district. Nobody can resist my kiddos! <3 That’s all for now. Until next time. <3<3<3

Log in to write a note
April 19, 2018

Thank goodness you didn’t have to sale your tickets. Sometimes an exciting event is more about the event as a whole than the actual event. If that makes any sense at all..lol like going out for my bday may not be so much about the fact that we are going out for my bday but the fact that people I love are all in one place! Anyway— you should make them pay more, dont feel guilty for asking, they should be offering, you shouldn’t have to ask.