Easter in the (NEW) Homeland

I hate to say this, but today just didn’t feel like Easter. All week people kept wishing me a Happy Easter, and I kept forgetting that today was Easter. Normally, I am always looking forward to Easter, but I couldn’t even remember what day it was this year.

I think the thing that threw me off is that I was not at home. I know Kansas is my home right now because that’s where my college is, but all of my family is back in Minnesota, so that is my true home. Even all of my aunts and uncles and cousins are in Minnesota; I am literally the one person in the family who chose to go to college in a different state. Don’t get me wrong, I love going to college here, and I am honestly happy that I left my home state. However, days like these just get to be really hard because there’s no easy way for me to just go home for a weekend.

It was especially hard because all of my family was together today and they all went to church and had Easter brunch, and I was just here. A lot of people from my college had gone home so I was jealous of them. Also, a lot of my friends from home were home for the weekend and I was honestly just jealous that I wasn’t there and feeling pretty homesick.

Today, my friends and I went to Easter brunch and that was delicious, but it was weird going with college friends instead of family or friends back home. We also went to Easter Mass. That was a little different for me because I am Christian, but most of my friends here are Catholic, so I just went with them to their mass. I have been to Catholic mass before, but never on Easter so that was also something that was different for me today.

My parents were nice enough to send me a little Easter care package since I couldn’t be with everyone today. It was very thoughtful and I thanked them, but it definitely wasn’t the same as being home with them, which was a bummer. Fortunately, I will be seeing them 3 weeks from today…CRAZY.

Oh well, not to complain on Easter, but it’s just something that was on my mind today. Even after months of being here, sometimes it still just doesn’t feel like my home and I do still get homesick.

Log in to write a note