Moneyball – a million dollar movie!

I actually love sports movies – especially movies that are made about true sports stories. I always find them so emotional and impactful. I am really into baseball, so when I saw that “Moneyball” had arrived on Netflix I knew that I had to watch it!

Let me just say that it was a really well-done movie! I enjoyed the movie a lot – there were moments I was laughing, smiling, thinking, and even shedding a few tears.

The movie is about how the baseball manager of the Oakland Athletic’s, Billy Beane, was able to transform baseball in a new way; he hired a computer analyst, Peter Brand, to help him recruit new players for the team. It demonstrated the importance of trying new things and working against constraints – especially money constraints. The A’s had a much smaller budget than some of the other big teams such as the Yankees and the Red Sox, but they found ways to recruit players on a much smaller budget and had to think creatively in order to recruit talented players. Many of the players they recruited scouts had deemed as flawless, but Brand and Beane saw a lot of potential in them.

I am not going to lie, there were some statistics and facts that confused me in this movie, so sometimes I was like “what’s going on?” But overall, I found it very entertaining and honestly truly inspiring. I really enjoyed the movie and I would definitely recommend it to others, whether or not you are a baseball fan!

Log in to write a note